Carrots

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 18

83.3% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
nongmoDan
Location:
Maumee, OH
Date:
October 1, 2014
          5.0
 
Best carrot ever
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Everything

What are the cons? I didn't plant enough

Review:

Best carrot I have ever had! Probably haven't had a carrot with a smile on my face since I was a boy. These did not disappoint

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By nongmoDan 1 Oct 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Jules
Location:
Chico, CA
Date:
August 18, 2014
          2.0
 
Not planting these again
Easy to Grow 4.5
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow

What are the cons? Strong flavor, not very sweet

Review:

I guess I'm in the minority here, but I didn't enjoy these at all. They were more of an off-white than yellow, and the flavor was pretty much the opposite of what I want in a carrot. They were tough, dry, and had a very strong flavor. They didn't have that satisfying sweetness I love in early spring carrots. I suppose soil may have something to do with it, I planted these in raised beds with rich peaty soil and plenty of water. Oh well, plenty more carrot varieties to try next year!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Jules 18 Aug 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
ReapSowGrow
Location:
Kansas City, MO
Date:
July 3, 2014
          1.0
 
Disappointing
Easy to Grow 2.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? Tasty

What are the cons? Pest Susceptible

Review:

This is the second year I have tried to grow this carrot. They seemed to do better this year than last, but this year an unknown insect bored all through them; leaving me very few upon harvesting. None of the other varieties I grew suffered this fate. They were adjacent to the Parisian Carrot and the Danver Half-Long, both of which did much better. The soil here might just be too tough to make this little carrot worth growing.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By ReapSowGrow 3 Jul 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
brmetal789
Location:
Lubbock, TX
Date:
May 28, 2014
          5.0
 
great producer
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? all germinated

What are the cons? waited so long to mature

Review:

I broke up my soil well and added some menure in heavy clay and watered deep once a week with drop hose when it didn't rain and these all came up and were awesome! Very pretty too.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By brmetal789 28 May 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Beck
Location:
Driftless Region, WI
Date:
April 12, 2014
          3.0
 
Good Flavor is Relative
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Heirloom Variety, Color

What are the cons? Taste

Review:

One season we grew Amarillo carrots in three different locations. One sowing was an indoor summer crop grown in containers. We also planted it in two different gardens for a fall crop (zone 4). Amarillo was our least favorite carrot for flavor that year. Taste is as individual as the carrot and the growers themselves. The sweetness of a carrot is influenced by good quality soil and adequate moisture. Under our care the Amarillo grew well, but we enjoyed the flavor of the Atomic Red variety much more, which suited our use for fresh eating, juicing and cooking of a small-to-average sized root.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Beck 12 Apr 2014

< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 
 
close (X)