Melons

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 11

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Fronklowes
Location:
Joplin, MO
Date:
April 29, 2014
          5.0
 
Liked by All
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? easy to tell when ripe

What are the cons? none

Review:

We grew 15 melon types in 5 gallon containers last summer. This one got a thumbs up from all our taste-testers. It took 28 days from the time it sprouted for it to flower and 77 days from sprouting to our first ripe melon. For those who might want to start early indoors, at 29 days from sprouting, the vine measured 17 inches long. This melon slips while it is still green, but turns yellowish/orange on the counter. Our melon weighed in at 1 pound, 5 ounces. The melon vine only produced 1 melon initially, but after the first was ripe, it began to form 3 more melons. They did not get to finish since we started so late in the season, but it appears that this vine will yield a second batch of melons if started early enough.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Fronklowes 29 Apr 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
NE Ohio Gardener
Location:
Cortland, OH
Date:
February 16, 2014
          5.0
 
5
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow, delicious

What are the cons? Clustered ripening

Review:

Like many other reviewers, I received this variety as a sample pack. Planted three hills (six plants) in my NE Ohio garden. Despite the less than ideal weather conditions last summer my plants produced eleven ripe melons from mid-August through early September. That is my only gripe about this variety - they ripen in close succession and do not last more than five or six days, even in the refrigerator. Flavor is good (not as good as Emerald Gem) and reminiscent of cantaloupe infused with honey. Will definitely grow again.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By NE Ohio Gardener 16 Feb 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
EmilyD
Location:
Forest City, IA
Date:
February 12, 2014
          5.0
 
Thanks for the free sample
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? juicy, sweet

What are the cons? small

Review:

So very pleased with this variety! Only the second kind of melon I've tried to grow but I think I'll be planting at least one every year from now on! These were incredibly sweet and juicy with hints of pineapple. I put one in the fridge to chill and when I opened the door later it smelled just wonderful in there! I only wish these grew a bit larger-mine maxed out around 3 lbs, most closer to 2.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By EmilyD 12 Feb 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
garden gall
Location:
Kansas City, MO
Date:
January 25, 2014
          4.0
 
very sweet and juicy
Easy to Grow 4.5
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? juicy!

What are the cons?

Review:

I received this as a free packet of seeds with last year's order. I didn't expect much and only planted two seeds because I had so many other melons planted. Both seeds germinated and the small fruit is by far my kids's favorite. The flavor is not like a traditional cantaloupe. It has a very sweet, honey flavor that is truly outstanding. It's very easy to eat one in a single sitting once you get started.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By garden gall 25 Jan 2014

18 out of 18 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
BA
Location:
MOUNTAIN RANCH, CA
Date:
August 29, 2013
          5.0
 
Ananas damerique............
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? too good to describe

What are the cons? none

Review:

I agree wholeheartedly with an earlier review about this melon being EXTRAORDINAIRE. I had never grown this melon before. The first one I picked had the stem already removed and it had changed color overnight. I took it in the house and my wife said we'd eat it in a couple of days. The next day I went in the house for coffee about 10AM and there sits my wife with the melon 3/4 eaten. The smile on her face told the whole story. She, the sneaky little rascal, had cut this melon without letting me know. She started laughing and couldn't stop. She said it was so good that she couldn't stop eating it. Try this melon, you won't be disappointed. Unless your wife/husband eats them all. But then you'll still benefit in other ways. haha. This is the right melon.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By BA 29 Aug 2013

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)