Herbs A-E

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 7

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
David
Location:
Los Angeles, CA
Date:
July 23, 2014
          5.0
 
Nice anise flavor
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Excellently flavored flowers

What are the cons? None

Review:

I'm fond of anise or fennel-like flavors, and so gave anise hyssop a try. The leaves have a mild anise flavor with a bit of bitterness (similar to the bitterness of many herbs, e.g. oregano). The flowers, however, have a wonderfully sweet and intense anise-like flavor. A real treat! Germination is similar to other mint-family herbs. I only got one plant from every four or five cells, but I'm a novice at starting herbs. The plants grew slowly at first, but have now grown to about 2 feet over the past five months in a warm climate. It may be perennial here, but I can't confirm that yet.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By David 23 Jul 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Mirissa
Location:
Squies, MO
Date:
June 4, 2014
          5.0
 
Worthwhile plant
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Delicious!

What are the cons? No problems at all

Review:

I direct sowed an entire pack of these in early spring 2013. They germinated well, grew fairly quickly and required little care (just mulching and occasional water during dry weather). They did well in sandy soil and full sun. The foliage is beautiful, very fragrant and makes a very delicious tea; the little dark purple flowers are also lovely. The plants overwintered well here in USDA zone 6b and, this spring, I was able to share with friends. I also moved a few of the plants to a different garden (one with part-time shade and a much heavier clay soil) and those plants are doing equally as well; Anise Hyssop doesn't seem to be terribly picky about where it grows! This herb has been one of the most worthwhile I have ever grown and there is no doubt that I will look forward to its arrival each spring.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Mirissa 4 Jun 2014

9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Jennifer
Location:
Rising Sun, IN
Date:
July 17, 2013
          5.0
 
Delicious and attractive
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Wonderful flavor, pretty plant

What are the cons? Short-lived (in my garden)

Review:

Perfect for tea, smells and tastes fabulous, a nice anise flavor. Lovely flowers, just like in the photo. Recommend a fairly dry or at least very well-drained area. My herb garden is fairly moist, and although other herbs such as oregano and thyme do well, my hyssop only lives for about two years and then dies back. It is still worth growing for me and I don't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. A great bee plant. Makes a fine perennial bedding plant as well as in the herb garden.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Jennifer 17 Jul 2013

12 out of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Aubree
Date:
February 12, 2012
          5.0
 
Great for tea & attracting bees
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

Our family loves this herb. Leaves are yummy to nibble on, make delicious tea and the plants attract loads of bees!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Aubree 12 Feb 2012

11 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Daniel
Date:
June 30, 2011
          5.0
 
Easy tea plant
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I planted three of these this year, and they have really taken off despite a bit of neglect. If you live in the Kansas City area then these are a safe bet for easy growing. The leaves make a great tea by themselves, or can be mixed with mint for an even better one. I'm even going to flavor a batch of homemade apple wine with it to see what happens.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Daniel 30 Jun 2011

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)