Eggplant

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 7

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
CASunshine
Location:
San Jose, CA
Date:
July 27, 2014
          5.0
 
Applegreen Eggplant
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? tender and mild

What are the cons? gets soft quick

Review:

I was pleasantly surprised with this variety. The texture is tender. No bitterness. If picked, don't let it sit for too many days or the eggplants become soft and wrinkled. Good yields with regular application of fertilizer.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By CASunshine 27 Jul 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Nick
Location:
Dallas, TX
Date:
July 21, 2014
          5.0
 
Great producer
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Very prolific

What are the cons? Skin can get tough

Review:

Great variety. Last year I had 5 plants and they produced all season until the frost in 5 gallon buckets. They are right sized for putting on the grill. I even fried some & made some mini- eggplant Parmesans that I froze to be eaten throughout the year. My plants this year are a few weeks from producing again. Pretty much bug free and easy to maintain. At the top of my list to grow for eggplants. Will grow this and several others every year.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Nick 21 Jul 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Tina Howard
Location:
Blanket, TX
Date:
June 24, 2014
          5.0
 
Survived A Late Frost
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Easy, Cold Tolerant

What are the cons? None so far

Review:

I started these from seed indoors to get a jump start. Unfortunately, we had an Easter weekend frost (April 20) that killed all my tomatoes and the other eggplants. One of these Apple Green survived, and thrived. It is June 24 and I picked 2 from this plant today. The plant is covered in blooms and more small fruit. We haven't tasted them yet, but I will definitely grow this variety again next year.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Tina Howard 24 Jun 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
North Dakota Gardener
Location:
Fargo, ND
Date:
February 11, 2014
          5.0
 
A favorite
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Great for Italian dishes

What are the cons? None

Review:

I grow Apple Green every year. I am a big fan of eggplant, and have tried several heirloom varieties. For my northern garden and clay soil, this one has always been a reliable producer and very tolerant of a range of summer conditions.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By North Dakota Gardener 11 Feb 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Phuong
Location:
Paducah, KY
Date:
November 7, 2013
          5.0
 
An Excellent Eggplant
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? earliest producer

What are the cons? none

Review:

I grew 12 different varieties of eggplants this year and just about all of them did very well. Applegreen was among the earliest producing lots of lovely green fruit the size of a large apple with a wonderfully mild eggplant flavor. I find eggplants need regular watering a couple times a week when it's dry, the flavor stays more mild and they are slower to form seed (I use soaker hoses). I planted out 6 week old plants the first of May and had my first eggplants the last of June, so almost exactly 60 days for the first fruit.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Phuong 7 Nov 2013

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)