Carrots

Overall Rating:
         
4.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 12

75.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
ReapSowGrow
Location:
Kansas City, MO
Date:
July 3, 2014
          4.0
 
Great Carrot
Easy to Grow 3.5
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Tastes Amazing

What are the cons? Not as good for heavier soils

Review:

Love the taste of this carrot, it doesn't have the sharp citrus like taste that most orange carrots carry. Instead it delivers a meaty, earthy taste reminiscent of stewed tomato. I will certainly be trying to grow more of these in the future. I have a couple left in the ground that I have let flower, hopefully I'll have the opportunity to collect some seed soon.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By ReapSowGrow 3 Jul 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
DallasUrbanFarmer
Location:
Dallas, TX
Date:
May 26, 2014
          2.0
 
Slow and bitter
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? none

What are the cons? very slow growth, bitter raw

Review:

I planted these carrots on February 23, and when I pulled up a test carrot on May 26, the top was 3/4" in diameter and only 5 inches long. When eaten raw, very bitter. Oh well, that's the fun of testing plants! Some win, some lose, and then you try again.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By DallasUrbanFarmer 26 May 2014

8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Vern
Location:
Gonvick, MN
Date:
October 12, 2013
          5.0
 
Good Producer
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 2.5
 

What are the pros? Porduced a lot of Carrots

What are the cons? Late maturity

Review:

Great tasting and a lot of carrots, they came late though. would defiantly plant again. Also Canned great!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Vern 12 Oct 2013

20 out of 20 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
BunnyGal
Location:
Central, CT
Date:
September 26, 2013
          5.0
 
Excellent
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? easy to grow and delicious

What are the cons? none

Review:

I've been experimenting for several years now to find my 'favorite' carrot variety and the search stops with this one! It's easy to grow, can handle neglect, and is delicious! It does incredibly well in my zone 5B garden. The flavor is strong in a good way. Great for eating raw right out of the ground or cooked. It freezes well and seems to hold its taste after long periods in the freezer. I also own a dehydrator and like to dehydrate much of my crops. For those who dehydrate, this variety rehydrates nicely to its original shape and color - no loss of color when cooked like the cosmic variety. A good crop with no negatives.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By BunnyGal 26 Sep 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Lorri D
Location:
Southern Oregon, OR
Date:
April 16, 2013
          3.0
 
Better cooked
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Like the red color

What are the cons?

Review:

My kids would not eat these raw and would pick them out of their food. They were a little spicey or maybe just not as sweet as the others we grew that year. I only liked them when cooked. Lorri D

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Lorri D 16 Apr 2013

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)