Winter Squash

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 16

93.8% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 

10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Angie
Location:
Montrose, CO
Date:
January 19, 2014
          5.0
 
Takes 1st place in flavor
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? In depth spicy flavor, Size.

What are the cons? Nothing!

Review:

I'm unsure why others have had a hard time growing this, but this is by far the best tasting pumpkin/squash you will ever try. I grow 6-10 new varieties every summer, last summer this one took the grand prize in everything. It's often times described as hazelnut in flavor, but I would take it a step further to say it even has hints of cinnamon, vanilla, and other spices. It's the ONLY pumpkin I can think of that upon boiling, then pureeing up in the blender, you do not have to add anything to make it taste like creamy heaven. We had two plants, and each put out 10-12 small pumpkins. Bear in mind, they are only suppose to reach 2-5 pounds in weight each. However, I find that PERFECT because none ever go to waste from being too large. We use these to make pumpkin spice lattes, risottos, sauces, and so much more. PLEASE GIVE THIS PUMPKIN/SQUASH A TRY!!!! You won't be disappointed. Just make sure it gets PLENTY of water, and a little bit of off and on shade throughout the day.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Angie 19 Jan 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Pool
Location:
Urbana, OH
Date:
December 21, 2013
          5.0
 
Great
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Pretty

What are the cons? none

Review:

My first time growing this squash(summer '13). Got plenty off a few plants. The taste is wonderful and so easy to work with. Tastes better than acorn squash, that I love. Definitely will grow more next summer.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Pool 21 Dec 2013

6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Mearced
Location:
Fayetteville, AR
Date:
October 23, 2013
          1.0
 
Bugs Got them all
Easy to Grow 1.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? Trash Crop

What are the cons? Squash Bug magnet

Review:

I was so looking forward to trying this new variety that was said to be more resistant to bugs. Instead, I planted 3 times and each time, the squash bugs attacked them voraciously. The only good thing I can say is that they made a good trash crop for the squash bugs so that my other squash were prolific!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Mearced 23 Oct 2013

10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
bob
Date:
February 21, 2012
          5.0
 
Love it
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I've grown this squash 2 years in a row, and it's another favorite, both for flavor and ornament; I always get lots and give several away as gifts/ornaments. The very long stem is elegant. For that matter, the plant is beautiful too, with not-too-big dark green leaves beautifully mottled with white. Since many of the moschatas will climb if given a chance, it would be worth trying to grow it as an ornamental edible to mask an ugly chain link fence.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By bob 21 Feb 2012

16 out of 16 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Madhatter
Date:
October 21, 2011
          5.0
 
awesome
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I planted 4 plants in May. In 2 months the vines were growing rampant. I was swamped by squash bugs this year and all my summer squash died off, most of my pumpkins, but the futsu just kept right on going. From those 4 plants I have about 40 squashes. The flavor isn't as rich as butternut but it is so good. I cut mine in 1/2 and roast them cut side down. Then I scoop them out and mash them with butter and a bit of cream. My kids fight over it!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Madhatter 21 Oct 2011

< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 
 
close (X)