Leeks

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 5

80.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 1 | Next >
 

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
MomsintheGarden
Location:
Winchester, VA
Date:
July 12, 2014
          4.0
 
Very tasty and easy to grow
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Good tasting, cold tolerant

What are the cons? May not always survive winter

Review:

These are very tasty. Start them early - we started them in mid-January in the cold frame. Plant them deeply as recommended by Eliot Coleman in his books, and keep them watered until they are well-established. They are cold-hardy, but they don't always survive the freeze/thaw cycles we get in Virginia. Sometimes they turn to mush.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By MomsintheGarden 12 Jul 2014

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
kev
Location:
Jersey City, NJ
Date:
March 21, 2014
          3.0
 
Having a real hard time
Easy to Grow 1.5
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? lots of seeds in packet?

What are the cons? seedlings keep dying off

Review:

While most of my other seeds in my two flats have started off well and are on their way to becoming strong transplants, these leek seeds have had low germination rates and just seem to be very fickle and are dying off. I have tried two different times now, and they just aren't taking. I am off to a late start now, but trying to resow again a third time. Maybe this will be better, but I am not too hopeful. I am not sure if I am doing something wrong, but the row of shallots to one side, and the alisa craig onions on the other are doing just fine. These guys just aren't taking.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By kev 21 Mar 2014

15 out of 15 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Mairoa
Date:
March 30, 2012
          5.0
 
Gorgeous
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I grow these in NW Washington and they overwintered where the rest of my leeks died in the first killing frosts. After surviving a winter in the single digits at times, they were a deep blue-green with beautiful purple edges and tips. Some were 3" across, even.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Mairoa 30 Mar 2012

18 out of 18 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Danielle
Date:
February 20, 2011
          5.0
 
Extremely Hardy
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

Grew these last year, and they have an excellent, sweet flavor. Love them baked with a little balsamic and E.V.O.O. They were completely disease and pest free. I kept a container of them on my unheated back porch this winter, and they have survived even with temperatures outside dipping down to -20 degrees F for a brief period. One plant is already preparing to bloom. Delicious and resilient... I will be planting these again and again!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Danielle 20 Feb 2011

13 out of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Kir
Date:
January 26, 2011
          5.0
 
Excellent variety
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

We've had a lot of success with these leeks. For us they are more slender than the larger varieties from the supermarket, but the flavor is very good and we eat both the white and bottom green parts. We harvest them all the way through January (in Denver). I love these in quiche and egg dishes. Note: Ours don't appear blue at all, more of a pretty dark green.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Kir 26 Jan 2011

< Previous | 1 of 1 | Next >
 
 
close (X)