Wild Boar Farms

Overall Rating:
         
4.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 15

93.3% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
poorfarmer
Location:
pittsburg, IL
Date:
August 20, 2014
          5.0
 
great tomato
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? heavey producer

What are the cons? none

Review:

Excellent taste we will definitely plant these again next year.This one was every ones favorite out of the six verities we planted.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By poorfarmer 20 Aug 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
kiwiplant
Location:
Toledo, OH
Date:
August 19, 2014
          5.0
 
nice
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? purple and round

What are the cons? nothing bad about them

Review:

Not sure when to pick them, they look very different than red/orange tomatoes. First time growing them. Here is a picture https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6675576/BlueBeautyTomatoes.jpg

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By kiwiplant 19 Aug 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
RockScout
Location:
Bradford, PA
Date:
August 18, 2014
          2.0
 
Root Woes
Easy to Grow 2.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? picture looks nice

What are the cons? wimpy roots

Review:

This is my second review for this variety, and the small roots I noticed on my transplants have come back to haunt the mature plants. They a droopy and wilted looking during the day. Which tells me they are not able to pick up as much water as they are transpiring out. These are in the same hydroponic system as many other varieties that are doing fine- so I'm blaming the genetics of my seeds. Most people seem to have better luck, but I can't recommend this tomato given it's continued poor performance.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By RockScout 18 Aug 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
SmartAlex
Location:
Jamestown, NY
Date:
August 11, 2014
          5.0
 
As pretty as the picture
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Unique Color

What are the cons? No Dislikes

Review:

I grew these tomatoes based on the lovely photo alone and was not disappointed! The seeds germinated well and the seedlings were vigorous. I grow one of each variety and give the rest away. This plant performed well producing as well as any variety this year. This has been a cool and cloudy growing year so everything is a bit late, but the Blue Beauty has as many or more fruits set than any other. The color is a bright purple until they begin to ripen then they mellow to a deep ruby with black shoulders. Really beautiful. The fruit is a medium sized slicer with no core and a good taste and texture. Despite frequent rains, cracking has been very minimal. These are gorgeous tomatoes on a trouble free plant. This will be a staple in my garden.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By SmartAlex 11 Aug 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Colchester CT
Location:
Colchester, CT
Date:
August 11, 2014
          5.0
 
Three cheers for Brad Gates
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Unique color

What are the cons? none at this time

Review:

It is the second week of August and we just harvested our first ripe Blue Beauty. Excellent germination rate and vigorous seedlings in early May. The plants themseves are shorter than every other variety planted and demonstrate a determinate vining habit, however the tomatoes ripen at different rates indicating that Blue Beauty is an indeterminate variety. Four very distinct and attractive blue bands form on each young tomato (similar to the pattern on a circus tent) which eventually turns mostly blue in areas most exposed to sunlight. This variety greatly benefits from a helping hand immediately after the flowers are pollenated, plucking the spent papery flower petals from the tiny developing tomatoes helps eliminate deformities, cracks and "shark bites" as the tomato develops and ripens. The vines themselves are quite resistant to pests and disease despite their small size. I am looking forward to trying more varieties from Brad Gates/Wild Boar Farms next year, as well as Blue Beauty

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Colchester CT 11 Aug 2014

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)