Winter Squash

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 13

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Gurgler
Location:
Rangiora, UM
Date:
June 14, 2014
          4.0
 
Serious Attitude
Easy to Grow 4.5
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Prolific and big .

What are the cons? Prefer a sweeter flesh .

Review:

Successfully grew these in cool climate , southern New Zealand . They flowered early , and set fruit easily . We got 1 or 2 big blue pumpkins on each vine . A vigorous plant . They got aphid infestations early on , but ladybird larvae cleaned them up . No sprays needed . Fruit dried off quickly in autumn , 8 - 15 kgs each . Good for roasting , soups , casseroles . Best if you quarter them and gift 3 pieces to neighbours !

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Gurgler 14 Jun 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Bonnie
Location:
Highwood, MT
Date:
May 31, 2014
          5.0
 
Cutting Hubbard Squash
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.5
 

What are the pros? flavor

What are the cons? no complaints

Review:

I read someplace to drop your hubbard squash on concrete(driveway, sidewalk) and it would break up and would be easier to use then. I tried it and it worked great.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Bonnie 31 May 2014

6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Brea
Location:
Royalston, MA
Date:
February 20, 2014
          5.0
 
Grows like crazy
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Tastes fantastic! Pie, soups.

What are the cons? Deer liked the vines.

Review:

These grew like gangbusters! One even went up the side of the screened porch where I had to dislodge it, putting it back on the ground. Then another vine tried to climb into the Maple tree so I had to redirect that vine, also. The vines seemed to grow another foot each time I looked at them. Provided lots of fun and interest. The squashes were huge, weighing at least 20 lbs each with each vine producing about 2 squashes. In my opinion, these are some of the best squashes to use for pies, puddings, savory squash soup, etc. It took a large knife and a hammer to crack the shells, cutting them open. Then I cleaned out the pieces and baked them. (Reserve seeds for growing next year or fry/bake them for eating). If you mash butter, brown sugar, a tiny drop of vanilla and a dusting of cinnamon into the cooked pulp, you'll think you are in Heaven.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Brea 20 Feb 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Brea
Location:
Royalston, MA
Date:
February 20, 2014
          5.0
 
Grows like crazy
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Tastes fantastic! Pie, soups.

What are the cons? Deer liked the vines.

Review:

These grew like gangbusters! One even went up the side of the screened porch where I had to dislodge it, putting it back on the ground. Then another vine tried to climb into the Maple tree so I had to redirect that vine, also. The vines seemed to grow another foot each time I looked at them. Provided lots of fun and interest. The squashes were huge, weighing at least 20 lbs each with each vine producing about 2 squashes. In my opinion, these are some of the best squashes to use for pies, puddings, savory squash soup, etc. It took a large knife and a hammer to crack the shells, cutting them open. Then I cleaned out the pieces and baked them. (Reserve seeds for growing next year or fry/bake them for eating). If you mash butter, brown sugar, a tiny drop of vanilla and a dusting of cinnamon into the cooked pulp, you'll think you are in Heaven.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Brea 20 Feb 2014

25 out of 25 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Todd
Location:
Concord, MA
Date:
July 18, 2013
          4.0
 
I hate squash bugs
Easy to Grow 3.5
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? beautiful plant

What are the cons? squash bugs

Review:

Plant marigolds around the hubbards to deter squash bugs. Plant the hubbards in containers too. I planted blue hubbards in both raised beds and 5 gallon containers that were filled with compost. The blue hubbards in the raised beds got killed by squash bugs living in the stems. The blue hubbards in the containers were untouched by bugs for some reason, so I will continue to plant them in containers. The containers require more water and fertilizer. A friend planted blue hubbards I gave him with marigolds in his raised beds and they have no squash bugs ... yet. Very impressive plant, but the flowers have to be pollinated by hand due to lack of bees. Males flowers have slim stems and female flowers have small fruit behind them. Dip the q-tip in the male flower to gather pollen and rub the pollen against the female flower while playing romantic music in the background :) .

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Todd 18 Jul 2013

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)