Peas

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 11

81.8% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
munchkiesmomma
Location:
Zuma, OH
Date:
May 23, 2014
          1.0
 
Disappointed
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow

What are the cons? Never flowered

Review:

We ordered these with high hopes, my kids love "odd" colored vegetables. These were incredibly easy to grow, climbing the trellis and thriving after every rainfall. However, these have not flowered. Not once. They just continue to vine. I have never had this experience with peas of any kind. The romaine lettuce planted under them is thriving, so I don't know what the problem is. It has been close to 8 weeks and nothing so at this point I am going to take them out and plant something else. We container garden and for something to not be producing, well, we don't have the room for that.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By munchkiesmomma 23 May 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Jada in GA
Location:
Grayson, GA
Date:
May 11, 2014
          5.0
 
Excellent picked young
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow, tasty!

What are the cons? Kids didn't like..More for me!

Review:

I planted these seeds the last week of February, and today (May 10th), I picked the 1st few pods. Good stuff! Not sweet (it's a soup pea), but will be delicious in a stir fry or veggie soup soon. The flowers are gorgeous. The young plants survived a heavy frost back in March and kept on plugging along with no help from me. Turns my tongue blue! HA HA These are fun to grow and the color is fun....I will definitely grow them next year!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Jada in GA 11 May 2014

14 out of 14 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
hauskat
Location:
Vacaville, CA
Date:
April 18, 2013
          5.0
 
Lovely peas
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? They are indigo blue!

What are the cons? none

Review:

This is a lovely pea! Even the flowers,which we expected to be white like regular peas, are a beautiful purple and mauve combination. You can eat the peas as snow peas, but you MUST pick them when they are young and completely flat. As soon as they start to show any swelling of the peas the pod gets fibrous. After that, wait until they dry on the vine, shell them and use for soup peas. My children LOVED them because the young pods were not only tasty, but they were blue -- actually turning their tongues bluish-purple. This is, of course, a much better to get that excitement than with artificial coloring.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By hauskat 18 Apr 2013

9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
cmh
Date:
July 2, 2012
          5.0
 
Love them
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I bought one packet of these that we planted early spring and just harvested. We have had a particularly cool yr here in Central Oregon and my peas are about the only things that are thriving. We love these, they are super fun for the kids and we love them cooked or raw, they have a deep almost creamy flavor. I just picked a whole bunch I planned to use for dinner but my five yr old gobbled down every last one before they even made it to the house. I'm back here today to buy more to plant for my fall garden.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By cmh 2 Jul 2012

6 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Jennifer
Date:
January 15, 2012
          5.0
 
Delivers as Promised!
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

Of course they taste bitter, even when young- they're soup peas! They aren't bred to be eaten fresh at all! Thats like giving a poor review to a sweet pepper for not being spicy enough....I digress. I found the peas beautiful, hardy, requiring minimal upkeep, dried themselves with no fuss, easy to shell, and tasty. Everything a soup pea should be plus a pretty novel color addition.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Jennifer 15 Jan 2012

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)