Herbs A-E

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 18

94.4% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 

16 out of 16 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
CitySlicker
Location:
San Diego, CA
Date:
December 24, 2013
          5.0
 
Bees Edible Flowers hen feed
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? readily self sows

What are the cons? no dislikes

Review:

Borage germinates well and the good news is that you only have to plant it once as it readily self sows. I planted borage to provide additional greens for the chickens and have edible flowers. Be sure to let some of the flowers go to seed and you will be rewarded with more plants to transplant around your garden. If you keep the lower leaves trimmed out (which I feed to the chickens) and cut some of the side shoots, you will be rewarded with even more side shoots. It likes water but once the plant is established, I have found it requires little water. Good organic soil and mulch keeps it looking great all Summer long and it will continue into Winter when it can be replaced with its seedlings. Adding borage to the garden was also so terrific for the bees and hummingbirds--plus the plant looks great even in the front garden!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By CitySlicker 24 Dec 2013

9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Mia
Location:
tacoma, WA
Date:
August 17, 2013
          4.0
 
Great musthave plant
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Super easy to grow and BEES

What are the cons? gets big and flops a bit

Review:

Love this plant! The bees love it too. I've had the flowers and leaves (cut up) in salads. I've also put some leaves into pesto so you don't notice the hairiness. I'm going to plant these with a mix of other flowering beneficial plants in a meadow, the bees will love it...and I love honey! :-)

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Mia 17 Aug 2013

10 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Beruriah
Location:
Western MA, MA
Date:
August 9, 2013
          4.0
 
Space them out
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Humming with bees!

What are the cons? Rain flattened them

Review:

I planted borage to attract bees to my very first vegetable gerden. I sowed rather too thickly because I did not realize how HUGE these plants would get! They're growing great. They have been flowering since late June here in 5b, even though the rains beat them into the ground and now there's a layer of dead vegetation. Hasn't bothered the bees at all (you can hear the borage patch humming!) and my squash and tomatoes are getting well-pollinated. I haven't eaten any of the leaves. They're very spiny/hairy and not appealing to me, but my pet rabbit loves them.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Beruriah 9 Aug 2013

6 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Wanna Be Farmer
Location:
Shenandoah County, VA
Date:
July 31, 2013
          1.0
 
Borage died
Easy to Grow 1.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Great germination

What are the cons? Sudden death of plants

Review:

My review is kind of skewed because I never actually got a yield. Has anyone else had the problem I had? Here is the issue: While the borage took off when I started it it must have caught some disease. Whatever happened to it occurred within 3 weeks of putting it out in the garden. From one week to the next it totally dissolved--just a bit of black where the plant had been. Nothing else had this issue in the garden. It hit both borage plants which were in separate rows. I will try again next year and put some in three different locations because, from the reviews, it seems to be an easy and prolific plant to grow.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Wanna Be Farmer 31 Jul 2013

13 out of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Grace
Location:
Jefferson, GA
Date:
May 19, 2013
          5.0
 
Great Plant
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Easy, pretty, multi-use

What are the cons? too fuzzy for consumption

Review:

I love my borage! Ever since reading that it helps burns, I have used it several times. I chop up and bruise a leaf and place it directly on the burn and put a wrap over it to contain it. After a few hours, I no longer have pain in the burn. As an avid, yet clumsy baker I use my Borage quite a bit! LOVE IT! I had 4 plants and one continued to live through the Winter blooming the entire time. Every garden and home should have this herb!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Grace 19 May 2013

< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 
 
close (X)