Okra

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 9

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Lr.
Location:
Boise, ID
Date:
June 10, 2014
          5.0
 
Burmese Okra
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? fun to grow

What are the cons? They won't grow through winter

Review:

This okra has become my favorite! produces quickly and in abundance. Good flavor and tender even when they get a bit large. We let a few grow pods grow with amazing results; huge decorative, conversation starters. Oh, and they dry well also.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Lr. 10 Jun 2014

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Lacey
Location:
east TX, TX
Date:
July 16, 2013
          5.0
 
Good for RAW eating
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? everything!!!

What are the cons? none

Review:

After a few years of trying out different okras, I have found my favorites. I like to grow this and Stewart's Zeebest for eating raw. RAW okra is incredibly healthy just google it. These 2 varities are tender. Zeebest is sweeter, but this has more okra flavor...get both! Then, I also grow Eagle Pass and Hill Country, but not for raw eating. The Burmese and Zeebest usually are eaten just about as fast as getting back up to the house. They are also good cooked any way at all.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Lacey 16 Jul 2013

8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Mike J
Date:
November 7, 2012
          5.0
 
Easy to grow and great tasting!
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I'm in a hot and relatively wet area. Central Florida The plants measure about 7 feet tall and produced approximately 100 okra pods each. If you catch them at about 12 inches or shorter, they will be nice and tender. As mentioned by others, they are great raw! If I forget to harvest a pod, it would get to be about 18" long and be about the circumference of the handle of a typical baseball bat! Huge! Highly recommended! These will ALWAYS have a welcome space in my garden!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Mike J 7 Nov 2012

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
John
Date:
July 5, 2012
          5.0
 
Very good choice
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I've been enjoying this Okra for about 3 weeks now. This is some of the best tasting Okra I've ever had. The other reviewers were right, this one is a keeper. I will be growing this every year now - its that good!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By John 5 Jul 2012

10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
farmer brown
Date:
March 12, 2012
          5.0
 
the best okra variety I have ever tried
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I live in an area with a lot of root knot nematodes and while no okra is immune to them, some do better at coping with them than others, I have grown Burmese for several years now with good success; it is also less slimy than most other varieties and so tender-- I have had 12 inch pods that were so tender I ate them raw.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By farmer brown 12 Mar 2012

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)