Purple

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 46

84.8% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 10 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
TomatoFan
Location:
Teague, TX
Date:
July 22, 2014
          5.0
 
A Keeper
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Tasty

What are the cons? Timing

Review:

I've grown several types of tomatoes, and this one has an excellent tomato flavor. The only problems I seemed to have with this tomato was it took a long to to produce tomatoes and cracking. The cracking was more due to the unusually wet summer that we have had. This one had definitely been added to the grow every year list.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By TomatoFan 22 Jul 2014

18 out of 18 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Heirloom Gardens
Location:
Sacramento, CA
Date:
January 29, 2014
          4.0
 
Roadside Stand Seller
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? Delicious flavor!

What are the cons? None

Review:

When we first tried to sell Cherokee Purple, customers were skeptical because it didn't look like "a real tomato." They wanted the red/pink Mortgage Lifter instead and those always sold out quickly so they had to take what was left-- Cherokee Purple! It didn't take long till customers discovered that this dark, richly-flavored tomato was even better than Mortgage Lifter, and it became our best seller instead! We had a very hot summer and as long as the drip irrigation did its job, the plants thrived. (Temps over 95 normal, now and then over 105)Remember, heirloom tomatoes need bees for pollination so if you try these and they don't set fruits, you may not live close enough to bees. Don't blame lack of fruit setting on the variety.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Heirloom Gardens 29 Jan 2014

10 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Kristina
Location:
Riceville, TN
Date:
January 21, 2014
          5.0
 
Love these maters
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Yummy

What are the cons? Cracked from too much rain

Review:

This type of tomato is native to my area so I thought it would be a good choice. I love these guys you get a second bloom towards the end of summer. The flavor is incredible. Like other reviews have said they are less acidic. They make great stewed tomatoes and delicious toasted tomato sandwiches. The only bummer was they are not very crack resistant, but I will definitely be planting these again this spring.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Kristina 21 Jan 2014

4 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Nurse_Rachet
Location:
Fort Wayne, IN
Date:
January 20, 2014
          3.0
 
Odd taste
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? Prolific

What are the cons? Off flavor

Review:

All of my tomatoes were late to set fruit due to multiple floods of NE Indiana in 2013, so I don't feel I can accurately comment on this tomato's maturity. My family, all tomato-lovers complained that this variety had an "off, motor oil-like" finish. Personally I felt they were spicy-sweet, and used them cooked since no one wanted to eat them raw.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Nurse_Rachet 20 Jan 2014

18 out of 18 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
okdeb
Location:
Tulsa, OK
Date:
October 12, 2013
          5.0
 
Always in my garden
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? flavor and size

What are the cons? doesn't keep long

Review:

I've been growing this tomato for years. Although I usually prefer tomatoes with more acidity, this tomato is positively delicious. It does well in our long, hot summers and although it stops setting fruit during the worst of the heat, the plants will bloom and set again when it cools a bit. Some years they crack more than others and they don't hold long once ripe, but we eat them up quickly, so that's not a problem. This one will always be in my garden.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By okdeb 12 Oct 2013

< Previous | 1 of 10 | Next >
 
 
close (X)