Broccoli

Overall Rating:
         
4.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 13

92.3% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
The Gingerbread Witch
Location:
Mount Vernon, OH, United States
Date:
July 25, 2017
          5.0
 
Pretty Purple Surprise
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Gorgeous, flavorful, good size

What are the cons? none

Review:

Started these in pots inside in late March. Germination rate was high, but I lost a few when I moved them into the garden, not sure why. The first head appeared in late June, and was very small. I left it a couple of days hoping it would get bigger, and it went to seed. However, the others are now blooming (mid-late July) and are a good size. The key is to pick them as soon as the purple spreads from the center all the way to the edges, covering the white. The color is lovely, and the flavor excellent. They seem very pest resistant and sturdy once they get going.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes  No

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Seattletuttle
Location:
Seattle, WA, United States
Date:
May 19, 2017
          5.0
 
Virtually magic in Seattle.
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Easy,tasty,ready early spring

What are the cons? None

Review:

Brassicas do well in Seattle. This one is incredible and will give you early spring produce that's hard to beat.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes  No

33 out of 34 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Billy Lipps
Location:
San Francisco, CA, United States
Date:
May 4, 2015
          3.0
 
Be Patient...and cold
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? little maintenance needed

What are the cons? slow development

Review:

This plant needs to overwinter, or at least be in a more chilly climate, before it starts to produce spears (take note everyone posting from Texas and Arizona that this is an English variety bred in English weather). Planted in Nov 2014 and heads just started appearing in late April. SF in the fog didn't quite provide the winter that is recommended for these, but out of three plants the one in the appropriate spot in the garden (shade problems) did just fine, you just have to be patient and fertilize accordingly. If you want to grow sprouting broccoli and don't live in the correct climate try these: www.highmowingseeds.com/organic-non-gmo-seeds-santee-f1-hybrid.html

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes  No

8 out of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Lindsey
Location:
Vail, AZ, United States
Date:
April 29, 2015
          2.0
 
Maybe not suited for desert.
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow

What are the cons? No heads

Review:

I live just outside of Tucson, Arizona and started this crop in September. I had hoped for heads in February or March with no success. The plants got huge but that was unfortunately it.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes  No

10 out of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Sam
Location:
Houston, TX
Date:
July 15, 2014
          1.0
 
Sprouting Broccoli
Easy to Grow 4.5
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow

What are the cons? Almost non existent yield.

Review:

I put them out in mid September 2013(6 plants)hoping for a bounty. I am trying to get rid of the tree like structures now (mid July 2014). During this long growing season; may be I got half a head of broccoli combined from six monster broccoli trees.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes  No
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
close (X)