Kohlrabi

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 6

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Rat
Location:
St Charles, MO
Date:
August 6, 2014
          5.0
 
Yum if right
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Tastes sweet and juicy

What are the cons? Tough in summer

Review:

Easy to grow in spring and fall. Tastes great. Juicy like an apple but sweet like a pea. Tricked all the little kids to eat some with ranch. They fought over it. If you let plants grow through summer, they will be long bulbs in fall and the tops won't be tough. Cabbage moths aren't a problem bc they only eat the leaves and don't even bother it as much as broccoli or cabbage.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Rat 6 Aug 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Stacia
Location:
Arlington, WA
Date:
July 27, 2014
          5.0
 
wonderful root crop
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? easy to grow

What are the cons? nothing

Review:

I love Kohlrabi, so easy to grow and big rewards. I use it in place of root crops that I can't grow (cabbage root maggots). started indoors in March, transplanted the end of April and began to harvest baseball sized bulbs mid July. I have already planted a second crop for a fall harvest. It is prone to aphids (although I haven't had any this year) and cabbage moth worms, but they are easy to find and get rid of. My ducks love the leaves! I use it as a low carb replacement for potatoes in many dishes - but it does have to cook longer than potatoes. Holds it's shape nicely and is wonderful au grautin.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Stacia 27 Jul 2014

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Gaspas
Location:
Santarem, AL
Date:
May 23, 2014
          5.0
 
EXCELENT
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Everything

What are the cons? ----

Review:

Love the taste, good grow, good germination rate, fast germination. Love it raw or cooked using the leaves :) Will sow again :)

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Gaspas 23 May 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Cats
Location:
St. Louis, MO
Date:
January 9, 2014
          5.0
 
Good
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Great taste and texture

What are the cons? Can get woody

Review:

They tasted great. Transplanted well from seeds indoors. When hot they get woody and lose flavor. Cabbage worms were easy to control on them. All plants formed bulbs. BC gave plenty of seeds. Will use same packet next year. If you let them grow through summer, wait and harvest them until fall bc the top of the bulbs will be tender. You can tell the boundary by where a knife easily cuts through the bulb. Don't wait to long to harvest, even a mild freeze will ruin them. They won't be dead, but they will be mealy and gross. They grew well in only slightly amended clay soil. I threw a handful of compost on each plant and didn't work it in bc they have shallow roots. Took about 2-3 months to harvest. When it only has about 8 leaves, you can see a cute little bulb forming. Cool plant.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Cats 9 Jan 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
heather
Location:
central, FL
Date:
April 4, 2013
          5.0
 
broccoli steam like falvor
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? very easy to grow

What are the cons? none

Review:

if you don't like it your cooking it wrong! very flavorful, i skin it chop it up thin and then cook it in a bit of oil on high for some time dashing in all kinds of herbs, very good!! i cant wait till it cools down a bit to grow again here!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By heather 4 Apr 2013

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)