Eggplant

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 5

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 1 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Donna
Location:
Willoughby, OH
Date:
April 17, 2014
          5.0
 
OK for container gardening
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? flavorful & prolific

What are the cons? aphids like them too

Review:

We grew them in a container garden last summer in NE Ohio. We started them in February. Be patient. They take a while to germinate, but we had 100% germination. The plants produced clusters of pretty purple flowers which turned into bunches of eggplants. The fruits were a beautiful purple and had a mild flavor. They were delicious stir fried. If you plant them in containers (we re-purposed cat litter buckets), make sure you keep them well-watered especially toward the end of summer. By late summer they were attacked by aphids, but they continued to thrive. We kept them watered and occasionally sprayed them with pyrethrum/chrysanthemum spray or soapy water.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Donna 17 Apr 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Cheri
Location:
Painesville, OH
Date:
March 22, 2014
          5.0
 
great eggplant
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? we got lots of them, tasty

What are the cons? nothing

Review:

these are tender and tasty. We grew them in the summer of 2012 in NE Ohio and they did really well. Good to cook in a stir fry or with sauce. Will grow them again this year!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Cheri 22 Mar 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
jentop
Location:
Fort Collins, CO
Date:
November 6, 2013
          5.0
 
Lovely little eggplants
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? easy to grow, great flavor

What are the cons? didn't plant enough of them!

Review:

I grew these in northern Colorado after starting from seed indoors. The plants did really well, set lots of fruit, and they were beautiful and very tasty. Excited to try to grow some more next year from the seed I saved. I wish I had grown more of them to roast and freeze, I'll be craving them all winter!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By jentop 6 Nov 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Matilda
Location:
North Aston, MA
Date:
August 18, 2013
          5.0
 
delicious
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Great flavour, ok yield

What are the cons? none

Review:

Grew this variety for the first time in a polytunnel here in north Oxfordshire in the UK. Good germination in February, planting out in late May. First fruits late June and they have been fruiting regularly since. The taste is really quite different from European varieties of aubergine: sweeter, milder and are thin-skinned. They are perfect for frying and Chinese-style recipes. I picked the fruits when they are around 10-15cms long: they are violet and glossy. The yield is not bad for where we are. We have had a cold spring but a reasonable summer this year. I would not chance it outdoors though. I will grow this again and recommend it to those who like oriental aubergines.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Matilda 18 Aug 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
theBridgeLady
Date:
May 26, 2012
          5.0
 
WOW
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I have grown this from seed and I was very pleased in zone 5. No pest or other problems. Easy to care for. No staking needed. Beauty and taste, all in one. I grow egg plants because they are food for the soul as well as for the body.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By theBridgeLady 26 May 2012

< Previous | 1 of 1 | Next >
 
 
close (X)