Winter Squash

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 22

95.5% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 5 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Foxhunter
Location:
Fairborn, OH
Date:
September 24, 2014
          5.0
 
Holy cow
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to cut for winter squash

What are the cons? needs lots of room to grow

Review:

29 pounds! The first one was over 24 pounds, and there's another out there that may weigh more. Best pumpkin pie ever, great soup.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Foxhunter 24 Sep 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
anon
Location:
Lititz, PA
Date:
September 1, 2014
          5.0
 
my favorite
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? beautiful, tasty

What are the cons? inconsistent

Review:

I've grown a few varieties of squash, and these are the earliest. The vines are hardy and produce 1-2 fruit per for me. They aren't as rampant as other varieties. The fruit are beautiful, but inconsistent. Some squash stay small, others don't get warty, but I always get more than I can use from a row. The best of them fit the description above and make a great fall display. But so what. They're my favorite because of the sweet taste that's reminiscent of melon. It's in a different class. The tastiest squash I've come across. They make amazing soup, for sure.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By anon 1 Sep 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Bearcreek
Location:
Colorado Springs, CO
Date:
February 18, 2014
          5.0
 
Yum Yum
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Taste, looks

What are the cons? None

Review:

This is a wonderful squash. It makes the best soup puree and pies as the flavor is rich, but light and delightful. Lots of water in the pumpkin as well. We decorate our home with the pumpkins in the fall and then eat them through the winter. As the squash begin to soften, if we have not eaten them all, we will simply chop the rest and put them in the freezer. Friends love them as gifts. A good producer.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Bearcreek 18 Feb 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Vintage Geranium
Location:
Grants Pass, OR
Date:
February 5, 2014
          5.0
 
Won Ribbons with these
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Good producer

What are the cons? none

Review:

I started these in the ground in mid- april. Wanted to enter in my county fair in August. I got at least a dozen large beauties from 2 plants alone. The were mature at end of june early july. I picked early so that they would have a chance to turn into that beautiful pink. They did and I won first place at the fair. No one in my area had ever seen these. Lots of fun to grow.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Vintage Geranium 5 Feb 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
yifang
Location:
Prescott, WI
Date:
November 10, 2013
          4.0
 
Pretty and Taste Good
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Sweet taste and appearance

What are the cons? Rot easily

Review:

This pumpkin is sweet and flavorful. Though not as flavorful as banana squash, which tastes like heavily buttered when cook. It is very prolific. I learned from a Taiwanese farmer that you should only allow one fruit on each vine to get the most flavorful pumpkin. I did French pruning on my one plant and got 3 pumpkins on three branching vines. I must watch the vine to remove extra pumpkin to enhance the one fruit I want to save. I used one of them to trade 3 gallons of raspberries with my neighbor. Another one for a bag of apples. I kept the biggest one (13 lbs)for Thanksgiving, It got stung by fruit flies and began to rot. I had to cut it up and eat. The steamed chunk smelled like clay pot roasted sweet potato. When I cleared the patch, I found another big immature pumpkin on the vine ,which was yellow. It developed warts gradually, but rot quickly. I grew sweet meat pumpkin, giant banana squash, and this variety this year. Each of them has some good reason to keep in my garden.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By yifang 10 Nov 2013

< Previous | 1 of 5 | Next >
 
 
close (X)