Garden Berries

Overall Rating:
         
4.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 18

77.8% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
MomsintheGarden
Location:
Winchester, VA
Date:
July 12, 2014
          1.0
 
A bust for us
Easy to Grow 1.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? None so far

What are the cons? Hard to sprout, pest magnets

Review:

I am a very experienced gardener and have successfully started many types of plants from seeds. I planted many, many seeds of these gooseberries and only got two plants. It's July (started in late March) and I have lots of flea beetle damage but not even a single blossom. Won't grow these again.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By MomsintheGarden 12 Jul 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
AZgardengirl
Location:
Show Low, AZ
Date:
June 25, 2014
          5.0
 
Great germination
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? very easy to grow

What are the cons? none

Review:

I planted these in small plug trays, I have over 50 plants, that is 100% germination rate, they are growing fast.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By AZgardengirl 25 Jun 2014

10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
karizma916
Location:
Sacramento, CA
Date:
June 14, 2014
          4.0
 
Planting Tips
Easy to Grow 3.5
EarlyMaturity 2.5
 

What are the pros? Sweet yet tart, good yield

What are the cons? Takes long to ripen

Review:

After reading some reviews, I wanted to share my thoughts. I germinated from seed 2 years ago and after transplanting in early May, I did not see any ripe fruit until late September. I received maybe 15 that year. When frost hit, I let the plant die and did not cut the dead leaves/stem off and mulched. Late February (2014) it started to grow back. Now, the plant is 4 feet tall with about 75 fruit. It started growing fruit early May and started ripening from the bottom up in early June. For those who think the fruit is tart, you MUST wait until the fruit falls off the branch. You pick them up from the ground and can eat right away, or store for up to 2 weeks. Only THEN is the fruit true to flavor. I really like the sweet/tart taste. Reminds me of a pineapple and cherry. Also, my fruit this year is slightly smaller than a cherry but last year they were tiny like blueberries. The plant also grows like a tomato, with suckers you'll want to prune. I hope this helped some people!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By karizma916 14 Jun 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Glmory
Location:
La Habra, CA
Date:
May 10, 2014
          3.0
 
I tried really hard to like it
Easy to Grow 3.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? Interesting

What are the cons? Requires Long Season

Review:

I planted this last May, and it did not produce a significant amount until this April. Some of this might have to do with the half day of shade but the nearby cherry tomato produced like crazy. Even now, I get no more than ten fruit a week and they are all closer in size to a blueberry than a cherry. The fruit are not amazing. Responses have ranged from trying to think of a good recipe for them to spitting them out. They are best described as tomatillos. If you expect something that tastes like tomatillos rather than something that tastes like a gooseberry you will be less disappointed. I would only recommend this plant to people who have space to plant at least five plants to make up for their low productivity. I would also think twice before growing them in a short season area.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Glmory 10 May 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Gabe
Location:
Davis, CA
Date:
April 22, 2014
          5.0
 
Flavor Bizarre Nah
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Love them

What are the cons? none

Review:

Well, I have just ordered these from this company, but I know this fruit from way back in South Africa. I laughed when I saw the comment by a reviewer that the flavor is bizarre! If you are expecting a sweet berry you might think that. The flavor is usually tart and unusual, and when you get used to them amazingly delicious. These berries are also reputedly very high in Vitamin C. One of the highest. And probably a low glycemic index as well for diabetics. I am excited to grow these again after so many, many years. On a visit to Africa hiking in the Drakensberg mountains I came across gooseberries growing wild, and it made me resolve to look for seed and grow them in California where I live.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Gabe 22 Apr 2014

< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 
 
close (X)