Spinach

Overall Rating:
         
4.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 7

85.7% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
heirloommaters
Location:
North Central, OH
Date:
October 12, 2014
          5.0
 
Wow
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Fall spinach success!

What are the cons? Season ending soon

Review:

Not only is this a yummy spinach, it germinated fine out in the garden bed without any kerfuffle, even though it was not this year's seed, grew without being coddled under less than ideal/drier conditions, and was easy to clean as well. This may have been dumb luck or because it was fall planted, but not one bad thing can I find about this spinach. We're growing it next year for sure!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By heirloommaters 12 Oct 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
sheila
Location:
west chester, PA
Date:
August 23, 2014
          5.0
 
germinating
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? none

What are the cons? none

Review:

im about to order these so i cant comment on this particular spinach but a no fail trick i have done with other spinaches is put in VERY WET paper towel..fold it up and place it in a zip lock baggie and place in refridgerator if u go back in about 2 weeks they actually will be beginning to sprout.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By sheila 23 Aug 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
mountainfarmer
Location:
Rangeley, ME
Date:
May 25, 2014
          5.0
 
Amazing
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? easy, delicious!

What are the cons? none

Review:

I had absolutely no problems growing this spinach. Required minimal care. Came up great! I honestly thought that such large leaves would make the taste be sub-par, but it truly tasted like giant baby spinach leaves! We LOVED it!!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By mountainfarmer 25 May 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
PembrokeEllieMay
Location:
Pembroke Twp., IL
Date:
March 20, 2014
          3.0
 
Never Germinated
Easy to Grow 1.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? NA

What are the cons? No germination

Review:

I bought a 1/4 pound bag about 5 years ago and not one seed germinated in my one acre garden. It was unbelievable! After learning this year of a technique used on spinach I may try again. Scientists call this process “priming,” and it’s easy to do at home. About a week before planting, soak spinach seeds in room temperature water for 24 hours. Place the wet seeds on a paper towel, and allow to dry at room temperature for a day or two. Shift the seeds to an airtight container, and keep in a cool place for up to a week. The primed seeds will retain enough moisture to complete the first two stages of germination. After planting, primed spinach seeds germinate in only 5 days, compared to 10 or more for seeds straight out of the packet. Getting a good stand comes down to spoiling your garden spinach, and the same tricks to promote spinach germination in spring come in handy in the fall. Spinach loses its enthusiasm for sprouting at temperatures over 75?F (23?C). Only recommend if you prime.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By PembrokeEllieMay 20 Mar 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
goatgarden
Location:
masset, WA
Date:
January 31, 2014
          5.0
 
biggest
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.5
 

What are the pros? gets huge

What are the cons? none

Review:

I grow a market garden in Northern Canada in a greenhouse. This is the best spinach I have tried for the spring conditions here: warm shortish days, frosty nights. The leaves of the first crop get to be 16 inches large, bigger if left longer. I have trialed many others and this is the biggest, thickest for an early unheated greenhouse crop. first planting is end of January - ready end of April.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By goatgarden 31 Jan 2014

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)