Garden Berries

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 43

95.3% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 9 | Next >
 

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Chale
Location:
Deland, FL
Date:
September 3, 2014
          5.0
 
Grew Great zone9
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow

What are the cons? None

Review:

Started plants indoors and planted March 10th. Plants grew very large and produced plenty of berries, enough to make several jars of jam. As I picked the berries each day, I threw berries whole, with husk in a Qt. freezer bag and put into the freezer until I had enough to use. I only planted 3 plants this year to try out, but should have enough wild ones next year from the berries that dropped. In one area they were left alone when they fell but in my other garden, if they were allowed to drop, the ants got to them first! Will grow again.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Chale 3 Sep 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Colorado
Location:
Firestone, CO
Date:
August 23, 2014
          4.0
 
Surprised by the taste
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.5
 

What are the pros? Taste

What are the cons? Should have planted more.

Review:

I planted these late, straight in a container. They grew great. Had no issues and we are getting plenty of them. They taste nutty, sweet and to me a little like a pineapple. Our whole family loves them. Nest year I will plant in the ground and plant at least 5 square feet of an area, I will also plant early. Give it time as they do great when you leave them alone.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Colorado 23 Aug 2014

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
KYweaver
Location:
Winchester, KY
Date:
August 15, 2014
          4.0
 
Great plant odd flavor
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Prolific, fun, stores well

What are the cons? Can't decide about flavor

Review:

Seedlings germinated easily but slowly. Planted out with peppers. Used commercial "tomato cages" for support, which worked perfectly. First fruit ripened same time as first tomatoes. The husks turn brown and drop, making it easy to harvest. For best flavor, let sit for a week inside after gathering. Off two plants, I'm getting a quart in the husks twice a week (about 1 cup husked). Only reservation is flavor. They are sweet, with a firm cherry tomato texture. I taste vanilla and pineapple, but there is a hint of tomato flavor too. Some people love these, my husband finds the texture and tomato flavor offputting in such a sweet fruit. I have made a dessert sauce and included them in salsa with tomatoes to rave reviews. For out of hand eating, I enjoy 3-4 before tiring of them. Am currently dehydrating some to see how that is received. Overall, a win.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By KYweaver 15 Aug 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Dr. Livingseed
Location:
Atchison, KS
Date:
August 11, 2014
          5.0
 
Pineapple Express
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Flavorful and productive

What are the cons? Tiny bugs

Review:

These are not as easy as peppers and tomatoes to start indoors. They don't strengthen up quickly at all that way. I had to try twice to get the 15 to 18 plants I wanted to transplant. With all of the babying these required to get going, I'll try to sew direct like others are recommending. With the patch I have in the garden, I may not even need to re-sew due to the amount of them that the bugs have gotten into. I'll let those stay on the ground. I'm still getting a good amount of berries, but I hate seeing any go to waste. I found mine to have more of a nutty and very slightly tart flavor when they still had a slight green tinge to the tops. If I let them sit to ripen to their full, solid gold color, they taste like a shot of sweet, natural pineapple juice. I've seen a variety mentioned as the "Cossack Pineapple" variety, so I'm wondering if that's what these were from Baker Creek. There are multiple varieties. These are very unique in flavor and I will be using them in jams.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Dr. Livingseed 11 Aug 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Tomato Man
Location:
Warwick, RI
Date:
August 6, 2014
          4.0
 
Direct Sow
Easy to Grow 3.5
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Yummy

What are the cons? Beetles

Review:

I strongly suggest direct sowing these seeds. I failed miserably trying to germinate indoors. I just threw a bunch of seeds in a hole outside in my garden and when the temp was just right they germinated well and now I have some nice plants.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Tomato Man 6 Aug 2014

< Previous | 1 of 9 | Next >
 
 
close (X)