Garden Berries

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 41

95.1% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 9 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
KYweaver
Location:
Winchester, KY
Date:
August 15, 2014
          4.0
 
Great plant odd flavor
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Prolific, fun, stores well

What are the cons? Can't decide about flavor

Review:

Seedlings germinated easily but slowly. Planted out with peppers. Used commercial "tomato cages" for support, which worked perfectly. First fruit ripened same time as first tomatoes. The husks turn brown and drop, making it easy to harvest. For best flavor, let sit for a week inside after gathering. Off two plants, I'm getting a quart in the husks twice a week (about 1 cup husked). Only reservation is flavor. They are sweet, with a firm cherry tomato texture. I taste vanilla and pineapple, but there is a hint of tomato flavor too. Some people love these, my husband finds the texture and tomato flavor offputting in such a sweet fruit. I have made a dessert sauce and included them in salsa with tomatoes to rave reviews. For out of hand eating, I enjoy 3-4 before tiring of them. Am currently dehydrating some to see how that is received. Overall, a win.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By KYweaver 15 Aug 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Dr. Livingseed
Location:
Atchison, KS
Date:
August 11, 2014
          5.0
 
Pineapple Express
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Flavorful and productive

What are the cons? Tiny bugs

Review:

These are not as easy as peppers and tomatoes to start indoors. They don't strengthen up quickly at all that way. I had to try twice to get the 15 to 18 plants I wanted to transplant. With all of the babying these required to get going, I'll try to sew direct like others are recommending. With the patch I have in the garden, I may not even need to re-sew due to the amount of them that the bugs have gotten into. I'll let those stay on the ground. I'm still getting a good amount of berries, but I hate seeing any go to waste. I found mine to have more of a nutty and very slightly tart flavor when they still had a slight green tinge to the tops. If I let them sit to ripen to their full, solid gold color, they taste like a shot of sweet, natural pineapple juice. I've seen a variety mentioned as the "Cossack Pineapple" variety, so I'm wondering if that's what these were from Baker Creek. There are multiple varieties. These are very unique in flavor and I will be using them in jams.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Dr. Livingseed 11 Aug 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Tomato Man
Location:
Warwick, RI
Date:
August 6, 2014
          4.0
 
Direct Sow
Easy to Grow 3.5
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Yummy

What are the cons? Beetles

Review:

I strongly suggest direct sowing these seeds. I failed miserably trying to germinate indoors. I just threw a bunch of seeds in a hole outside in my garden and when the temp was just right they germinated well and now I have some nice plants.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Tomato Man 6 Aug 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Piper
Location:
Somerset, NJ
Date:
August 3, 2014
          5.0
 
Terrific find
Easy to Grow 4.5
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Attractive plant, great fruit.

What are the cons? None

Review:

This was my first time growing these treasures. I started them very early and grew them under lights. They grew very slowly, but without problems. I ended up with 47 viable plants from my 50 seeds. I shared the plants with my gardening friends, keeping ten for my tiny garden. They are producing well. The literature I read said each plant would produce about one pint of fruit-- I am sure these will accomplish that goal. The fruit is delicious! Next year I will grow more and not give so many away.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Piper 3 Aug 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
snowpea
Location:
hartford, VT
Date:
August 2, 2014
          5.0
 
this thing is a monster
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? grow rapidly!

What are the cons? grow rapidly!

Review:

The other reviews are correct in saying these are extremely slow to start. I started them indoors under lights at 8 weeks & 4 weeks before last frost and they remained very, very tiny until I planted 4 of them outside May 26 (2 weeks after last frost) in my square foot garden. They exploded with growth and quickly over shadowed the other plants in the square, and began spreading branches into the adjacent square. I've even had to prune the branches back. As of Aug 1, I've been getting about a handful of delicious cherries every day. It's a love-hate thing--I love them but hate they're shading my other plants. Lessons for next year: 1) No need to start them so early because the ones started 4 weeks before last frost grew just as rapidly as the ones started 8 weeks before. 2) plant 4 plants centered in their very own 4'x4' square without any thing else planted in it (except maybe arugula around the perimeter). Hope this helps!!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By snowpea 2 Aug 2014

< Previous | 1 of 9 | Next >
 
 
close (X)