Chicory

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 6

83.3% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
San Diego Gardener
Location:
San Diego, CA
Date:
November 26, 2013
          5.0
 
Low effort high return
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

This is a delicious chicory that takes little to no effort to establish in your garden. After enjoying it over the summer, I pulled it up once it was done flowering (it was too beautiful to pull out before that). Little did I know I would also be enjoying it over the fall. It regrew from the root (which must have broken off well over 8 inches below the soil surface). More impressive is the fact that it is located in a spot that has not been watered in well over 4 months and is only receiving about 5 hours of sunlight per day. You would never know since the growth habit is as vigorous as it was in the summer and the pungent bitter flavor is just as strong. Though we enjoy them lightly saut?ed in olive oil, I can see how they would be too strong for most people. To bring the bitterness into balance, cook them with stronger flavored ingredients like sharp cheeses, cured meats, anchovies, tomatoes (particularly sun-dried) and garlic, or braise in wine, meat stock, or beer. So good!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By San Diego Gardener 26 Nov 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
slevintorn
Location:
kingman, AZ
Date:
July 24, 2013
          5.0
 
champion beauty
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? easy to grow, invincible

What are the cons? none

Review:

This was a pleasant surprise, the leaves have a real punch, so i use them in an herb mix. the leaves and the flowers are real eye-catching and this plant certainly "grows like a weed." we get temperatures up to 115 at times and i have not witnessed this variety to wilt or in any way seem to suffer. it is a perfect delight to grow and to cook with.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By slevintorn 24 Jul 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Momturtle
Date:
October 12, 2012
          5.0
 
One of Our Favorites
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

We are growing it in partial shade, moist and very rich soil. It comes back every year. We use it in cooking up pots of mixed garden greens, lightly steamed. Heaven. Bitter but not too much to eat.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Momturtle 12 Oct 2012

10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
martyj
Date:
May 27, 2012
          3.0
 
This isn't actually a dandelion.
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I wish it was labeled as a chicory, which it is. Thankfully only one plant came up in 2011. It overwintered and is now at least five ft tall. I already have chicory growing wild at the edge of my garden. I let it grow because the blue flowers are so pretty. This "dandelion" has jagged leaves which is the only difference from my gone wild chicory. It was way too biter to eat. I expected a larger more refined true dandelion when I ordered the seeds.I wouldn't have ordered chicory. My only gripe with Baker Creek is we often don't get enough important information with the seed description. Otherwise I love the company

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By martyj 27 May 2012

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
obie1Kanode
Date:
September 28, 2011
          5.0
 
Easy to grow--adds color to salads
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

Add just enough of young growth, cut into 1" pieces, to make up 10-20% of a mixed salad. Most people will find it too bitter to eat by itself. It adds flavor and color. It goes best with a spicy Italian or Cesar dressing. Italiko Rosso is more robust and drought tolerant than wild dandelion and slower to go to seed. It took 90° + weather without a problem. It does well in pots that receive regular watering. The stems are strong and upright so it's easy to pick and clean.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By obie1Kanode 28 Sep 2011

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)