Winter Squash

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 10

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
CHRIS
Location:
Notasulga, AL
Date:
May 28, 2014
          4.0
 
On the journey
Easy to Grow 4.5
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? This took off like crazy,

What are the cons? seems to be slow now

Review:

Well its still very early for us with these. We have 23 out of the 25 seeds to germinate. I am in central alabama in very sandy loam soil in a ph 0f 7. The squash are planted on hills 4 to a hill and caged since deer like to see what is on the menu every night. The squash have been transplanted for a week and a half. they have endured fire ants and are beginning to get going...still slow at this point...dedicated 90 x 60 feet to these. will keep posted

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By CHRIS 28 May 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Ben
Location:
Lowell, MI
Date:
February 17, 2014
          5.0
 
Really Big
Easy to Grow 3.0
EarlyMaturity 2.5
 

What are the pros? Big, Attention Grabber

What are the cons? does poorly in drought

Review:

in 2012, i had one 20lb squash, did poorly near treeline in drought condition. In 2013 my heirloom and random squash were planted at the bottom of a hill on muck soil (high organic matter). I had several of these in excess of 50lbs, one made 90lbs. Several where broke by my field crew getting them in bins. Great attention grabber in my farm market. I sold several to local chefs who reported that it was stringy like pumpkins with a flavor not far from butternut.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Ben 17 Feb 2014

6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Lisa
Location:
Sm Town, ID
Date:
January 12, 2014
          4.0
 
One Big Squash
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Very Large

What are the cons? none

Review:

I grew these on a trellis in Idaho. The vines were all over the place. The taste is ok, not the best but not bad either, could use a little brown sugar. I am in the process of canning my 3 ft long squashes. Today I canned a 23 pounder. I got 14 quart jars and pureed a quart bag for the freezer. Naples is a good canning squash, and it holds up well. I did not have ANY problem with the squash bug, mold or mildew.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Lisa 12 Jan 2014

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Snaki
Date:
November 15, 2011
          4.0
 
Big
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

These babies grow large even up here in Canada. Two fruit off of one vine, a 60 and a 58 pounder. Great for baking but pretty watery if you like to roast it, more for soups and stews.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Snaki 15 Nov 2011

6 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
RiFarmerBob
Date:
November 3, 2011
          4.0
 
Beh
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I bought these for my parents as they hail from Campagnia and ate it growing up. They do grow large, and definitely need a long growing season and and lots of sun. When my mom cracked one open she gave me a slab off of it. The beautiful, rich, orange flesh had me salivating, but after several hours roasting on my grill and then another two hours (the next night) in the oven it still had the the consistency, water content and taste closer to a summer squash than winter squash. I like my winter squash roasted or baked so that it dries out and concentrates the flavor. Also, I like to store my my squash whole and cook them throughout the year as I have a hankering. As these are 30+ pounders, once you crack one open, you have a limited amount of time to eat or process/freeze.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By RiFarmerBob 3 Nov 2011

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)