Carrots

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 5

80.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 1 | Next >
 

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
JulsInAZ
Location:
Surprise, AZ
Date:
April 30, 2014
          5.0
 
Best baby carrots ever
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Easy, prolific, super sweet

What are the cons? Woody at full size

Review:

The first year I grew these I wasn't impressed. When allowed to grow full size, they became quite woody and had poor flavor. I gave up and let them languish, with several going to seed. Had dozens of volunteer carrots to pull when prepping the bed for replanting and decided to throw them in with some orange baby carrots for steaming. Tossed with a little butter, salt, and fresh parsley, and wow what a difference! The white carrots were super sweet and yummy. I'll now be growing these every year to harvest as babies. A new favorite!!!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By JulsInAZ 30 Apr 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Randy
Date:
November 29, 2011
          4.0
 
Good enough
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

They grew fast and large and the flavor was ok raw, but they taste better cooked -maybe the heat brought out the sweetness.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Randy 29 Nov 2011

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
rowan
Date:
March 2, 2011
          5.0
 
Will grow again
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

Sweet and not too 'carrotty'. Almost sums it up except to say they grew well in our unusually wet summer here in Australia and produced thick, perfectly formed carrots. Performed better than our orange varieties and we will be growing these as our main carrot variety from now on.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By rowan 2 Mar 2011

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
old husher
Date:
January 8, 2011
          5.0
 
did well
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

when compared to the purples, these were great producers. whiteness all the way through. nice mellow flavor.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By old husher 8 Jan 2011

8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
KathyG
Date:
December 18, 2009
          5.0
 
Best Carrots Ever!
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I tried these last year for the first time. I garden in raised beds that are about 2.5' deep and are 4' wide x 8' long, a nice size. I've tried carrots before without much success because we tend to have really hot humid weather. Our spring season lasts about 2 or 3 weeks and then it is summer until we get to October...LOL. Most cool weather crops like to bolt or just wither up and die, even with mulching and irrigation. I made my own seed tapes to get the spacing right, then I planted these carrots, along with the purple variety and some Scarlet Nantes. I inter-planted them with radishes and put rows of spring onions, dill and beets around. I gave them organic mulch and crunched-up eggshells for food. Well, they liked it so much that when we started harvesting them, the purple carrots were bright thick, short and spicy. The orange carrots were longer, large, long and juicy, very sweet and crisp. But the white carrots were enormous! Some were 15 inches long, and over 1.5 inches thick! They were creamy sweet and rich tasting. My 7 yo grandson picked them as his favorite vegetable and ate carrots whenever he was at my house (his 10 yo brother liked the purple ones). I will definitely buy these again!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By KathyG 18 Dec 2009

< Previous | 1 of 1 | Next >
 
 
close (X)