Beetroot

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 7

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
backwaterjon
Location:
Mint springs, KY
Date:
August 17, 2014
          5.0
 
Mangels tasty for dinner
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? It is a fun vegetable to plant

What are the cons? no dislikes

Review:

They aren't just for animal fodder any more. They are a tasty vegetable fit to grow in your garden anywhere you plant it. For food, greens, and for flavor. Even ones 20 lbs and over are great, baked or stewed. It isn't just animal fodder anymore.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By backwaterjon 17 Aug 2014

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
keith
Location:
Tacoma, WA
Date:
January 9, 2014
          5.0
 
Our Winter Fodder
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to Grow, Store, Feed

What are the cons? Must Thin Early

Review:

We grow this beet every year... using it for livestock food. It keeps well all winter long if you keep it in a cool place where it does not freeze. Must be harvested prior to first frost or it will spoil during storage. High sugar content but does not cause diarrhea which is a problem with some of the other mangles. In the winter you can harvest the greens off of your stored livestock food if you let a little light shine into the food vault. Its a good bank food and I also won second place at the fair.... maybe first place next year. Make sure to thin out the plants and lime the soil.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By keith 9 Jan 2014

14 out of 14 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
johnchuck77
Date:
December 14, 2012
          5.0
 
awesome
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

our family and farm are thriving on these. our pigs just cant get enough. grew a huge crop of these this year. greens are wonderful in salads

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By johnchuck77 14 Dec 2012

15 out of 15 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Euarto Gullible
Date:
December 9, 2012
          5.0
 
Excellent
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I grew only one to simply to see how big it would get and it was probably around 15 lbs. The description said it was grown primarily to feed livestock, so I wasn't hoping for much in terms of flavor. The description is also slightly misleading as the flesh inside is white, not red. I left mine in the ground until first frost, and then it sat for a couple weeks in my garage and got a little softer. When I finally cooked it, it was absolutely fantastic. It was better than the other two other varieties of beets that I had planted (one red and one yellow). I will definitely plant a few of these next year.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Euarto Gullible 9 Dec 2012

13 out of 14 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
rowan
Date:
November 20, 2012
          5.0
 
Sweet and tasty even when large
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 2.5
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

These are a great seller at the market. I love them cooked anyway like potato and they remain sweet and tender when large.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By rowan 20 Nov 2012

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)