Spinach

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 8

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Sue Curtis
Location:
Maryville, TN
Date:
June 17, 2014
          5.0
 
Amazing
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.5
 

What are the pros? Hardy and amazing tasting

What are the cons? Bolted somewhat fast

Review:

I planted this spinach in my garden in October. We had an incredibly cold winter and it lived under the snow and wind etc. We had amazing spinach all fall-spring long! It was so prolific that I ended up with a few trash bags full for freezing. If there's any negative it's that it bolted faster than what I was expecting.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Sue Curtis 17 Jun 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
brkpnt
Location:
Oklahoma City, OK
Date:
June 15, 2014
          5.0
 
Amazing
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Everything

What are the cons? nothing

Review:

I live in Oklahoma City and am a beginner gardener. In an OKC winter we have temperatures ranging from 78F to -10F with ice, snow, then summer like weather. I direct sowed these seeds in September, they grew fast. When the winter came I was not able to protect them as I had read that I should because of shoulder surgery. I thought all was lost on the winter garden but they froze, and then grew back - over and over and over. They were still growing when I put the summer garden in. I took them out because I thought that the sun here (75F-100F ) would burn the spinich but I think I'll try leaving them in during summer & see what happens next year. Amazing!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By brkpnt 15 Jun 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Meisum
Location:
Saratoga Springs, UT
Date:
June 8, 2014
          5.0
 
Giant prolific and tasty
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow, flavorful

What are the cons? Leaf miner's paradise

Review:

I planted a few squares of these early this spring in my zone 6 square foot garden. The leaves truly are huge, so I've had to pick frequently to keep them from overcrowding other plants. The leaves are tender, with a nice salty flavor to them. The only downside is that the leaf miners went nuts for them too! Thankfully, it's a prolific enough plant that I'm still up to my ears in unblemished spinach!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Meisum 8 Jun 2014

10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
FurnCroft
Location:
Bahama, NC
Date:
May 16, 2013
          5.0
 
My Favorite Spinach
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Does well in the south

What are the cons? none

Review:

This is a rich tasting spinach which is easy to grow. The plants are smaller than Bloomsdale, but sometimes less is more. The Viroflay is surprisingly heat resistant. Our Bloomsdale Long-standing bolts long before the Viroflay. This has become a staple in our garden. We just love it.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By FurnCroft 16 May 2013

9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Vanessa
Location:
Santa Rosa, CA
Date:
April 5, 2013
          5.0
 
Monstrueux
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Hardy, fast grower

What are the cons? none

Review:

I planted these neglectfully in summer last year. They sprouted quickly and survived transplanting without a hitch. Much to my surprise, as the sunlight waned and the cold crept in, they stayed bright green and alive. When frosts came night after night, they remained unfazed. Now that the light is increasing and it's becoming more and more mild in the North Bay, the leaves are growing enormously and at a rate with which I can barely keep up! Simply steamed with a wee touch of lemon is my favorite way to enjoy this perfect spinach. Not to disappoint!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Vanessa 5 Apr 2013

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)