Garden Berries

Overall Rating:
         
4.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 13

92.3% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Sweet Tamale
Location:
Portland, OR
Date:
August 31, 2014
          2.0
 
Update
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? tenacious

What are the cons? thorns

Review:

These babies can take abuse. The weather was in the 90s for two weeks. I'd find them on death's door, water them, and sproing! Instantly lush and ready to grow! Once, I plunged them in the pond to water them, forgot them there for three days, they looked gross when pulled them out, buth then sproing! An hour later they looked lush and green. Increditably tenacious. Despite the abuse, they've grown lush. Very high feeders. They love (rabbit) manure tea. I love the velvety leaves. Unfortunately, the ones I've got have the nastiest, most wicked thorns. I was four days nursing an infection from one of the spines. The one I placed in the ground is almost three feet, while the ones in the pots are about ten to twelve. I plan to keep one inside to see how it fares as a houseplant, but the rest of them are headed for CL free stuff. If I could get a thorn-less variety, I'd be hooked on them.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes  No

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
prairie girl
Location:
pinnacle, NC
Date:
June 14, 2014
          4.0
 
Naranjilla
Easy to Grow 3.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? beautiful, produces fruit

What are the cons? production time, finicky

Review:

bought my seeds years ago from Baker's only had 2 to germinate but got beautiful plants about 3-4 foot tall in container, starting 2nd year bloomed but fell off, then 3rd year bloomed again and self pollinated. Quite a few fruits on the plant but cold weather came before ready so placed in greenhouse, almost ripened the unexpected single digit temps hit our area and killed my plant. It is a beautiful plant and does fruit in time but you must be a very patient grower with this plant.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes  No

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Sweet Tamale
Location:
Portland, OR
Date:
June 10, 2014
          4.0
 
Experiment in the making
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? Interesting project

What are the cons? Does not fruit N of Florida

Review:

Here in chilly, grey Oregon is it a heat hog. Must have full sun, a manure load of manure, well drained moist soil. Prefers humidity. Seems to like grit mixed in the soil. Given its lust of sun and heat, not sure it'll do well as houseplant, but we'll see. Cutworms don't like it due to the hairy stem. Plan to experiment, with champion plants, etc. Well report more later.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes  No

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
zann57
Location:
ozark, MO
Date:
October 13, 2013
          5.0
 
growing naranjillas
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? love the plants

What are the cons? spiky leaves

Review:

I found naranjilla seeds at baker seed company after a forty year search for the fruit. Too happy!! Grew outside in 2 cubic meter pots on north side of house.tomato worms attacked early summer.otherwise no real problems. they got to about 3 to 4 ft. tall. they are flowering and setting on fruit. it1s mid oct. and am putting inside on cold nights and keep them shaded during the day. does anyone know how long fruit takes to ripen? how much light do they need during the winter and how warm to keep them?

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes  No

11 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
John
Location:
Albuquerque, NM
Date:
August 29, 2013
          4.0
 
Interesting potted plant
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow, attractive

What are the cons? Long time to fruit

Review:

I started seeds indoors in February 2012, had good germination, grew seedlings under grow lights. Potted up to roughly 3 gallon ceramic pots in late spring or early summer, pots were outdoors under substantial shade. Plants grow very large leaves with a reddish/purplish tinge. I moved the plants indoors (at 5000' elevation in New Mexico) in mid-October in front of south windows. They started blooming in November; I didn't try to pollinate the flowers. They needed water frequently, gradually lost lower leaves, survived white fly infestations. I moved them back outdoors under substantial shade in May 2013. They have set some fruit, some of which appear to be full size, but not yet ripe at the end of August 2013. Most of the bare stem areas have buds but have not regrown leaves. They need frequent water; desirable to grow them in much larger pots.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes  No
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
close (X)