Spinach

Overall Rating:
         
4.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 13

69.2% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
cristal
Location:
temecula, CA
Date:
October 4, 2014
          4.0
 
late producer in our heat
Easy to Grow 3.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? it is finally arriving!

What are the cons? doesn't like our heat

Review:

we are over 100 a lot in the summer and it just sat dormant in the garden until Sept/Oct but is really taking off now. So I don't know that it likes this much heat! Will enjoy through fall it appears. Some powder mildew issues but it seems somewhat resistant as its still growing and producing.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By cristal 4 Oct 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
gumnut
Location:
farawaycountry, UM
Date:
July 31, 2014
          3.0
 
perennial groudcover
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? easy, perennial

What are the cons? small leaves

Review:

I grow this as a perennial groundcover. The vegetable garden is not a good place for it, better under trees or in an odd corner of the garden. It does not germinate easy, I think I soaked in hot water. It dies back when severe frost hits, it will come again (depending on the temperature). It is one of the perennial vegetables permaculturists like so much. NZ spinach must be boiled in water and the water thrown out to get rid of the oxalic acid. I don't use the stems and for this reason I don't use it a lot because the leaves are much smaller than with usual spinach.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By gumnut 31 Jul 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
hobbledehoy
Location:
Shippensburg, PA
Date:
June 3, 2014
          4.0
 
Delicious when picked small.
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Taste

What are the cons? Slow to germinate

Review:

Wonderful flavor although we've only picked it when it was smaller than 6". The kids adore it and I've been using it as a substitute for regular spinach in recipes.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By hobbledehoy 3 Jun 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Colorado Gardener
Location:
Montrose, CO
Date:
December 29, 2013
          3.0
 
Salty
Easy to Grow 3.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? Prolific, but takes time

What are the cons? Very salty due to oxalic acied

Review:

It took forever to germinate, and I even reseeded. I had really given up on it, and then it took off. I got tons of leaves. A bit in a lasagna, soup, stew is OK, but it has alot of oxalic acid in it, and I found it too salty.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Colorado Gardener 29 Dec 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
ekoko
Location:
Boston area, MA
Date:
August 30, 2013
          5.0
 
Great vegetable
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? easy to grow

What are the cons? none

Review:

We loved it! We had a lot of it and a lot of meals.Very hardy . It grows all summer and doesn't mind heat. I will grow it again.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By ekoko 30 Aug 2013

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)