Wild Boar Farms

Overall Rating:
         
4.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 13

69.2% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Tomato Lover
Location:
Minneapolis, MN
Date:
February 3, 2014
          3.0
 
Good not great
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? color

What are the cons? average

Review:

This is a good tomato- but not great or fabulous. I grew 8 varieties of WBF tomatoes and this was good- but I had much better varieties in the garden. The Pork Chop and the Solar Flare are amazing from WBF (available on Seed Savers site), and I would also highly recommend the Dr Wyches Yellow and Spears Tennessee Green that Seed Savers sells.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Tomato Lover 3 Feb 2014

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Charles
Location:
Redwood Valley, CA
Date:
January 5, 2014
          5.0
 
Choc Stripe
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Amazing flavor

What are the cons? non

Review:

I bought seeds from Baker about 3 yrs ago of a tomato called Chocolate Stripe that looked just like this. I fell in love with it and I have been saving seed for the last 3 seasons. I have looked around for the name Chocolate Strip in other seed catalogs and I have not found it. Baker Seed is no longer carrying this seed under the name of Chocolate Strip, however this tomato looks exactly the same. Is this the same tomato. I have been saving the seed from the Chocolate stripe and I believe I have selected it to be breeding a little larger then the original seed.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Charles 5 Jan 2014

8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Phuong
Location:
Paducah, KY
Date:
December 23, 2013
          5.0
 
Huge Tasty Tomatoes
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? large tomatoes, great flavor

What are the cons? none

Review:

Grown in a hot and humid zone 6b. These tomatoes grew to a large size for me with the first tomato weighing 1.5 pounds and picked at 77 days from being planted out. The flavor is sweet with a wonderful complexity. The plants produced lots of large beefsteak sized tomatoes.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Phuong 23 Dec 2013

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
snowowl
Location:
Lyle, WA
Date:
November 22, 2013
          3.0
 
Great in Soup
Easy to Grow 2.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? Amazing taste in veggie soup

What are the cons? hard to grow

Review:

I struggled getting these going. They germinated and then stopped growing at a few inches tall. I planted a couple out anyway and they got a couple feet tall and grew 5-6 tomatoes each. It was hard to tell when they were ripe, but I picked them when they were soft to a light press of my thumb. I threw them into a vegetable and (Good Mother Stallard) bean soup - amazing! I tried the soup with a few different heirloom tomatoes and, while very good, nothing compared to cooking with these! Will try again next year and see if they grow better.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By snowowl 22 Nov 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
M.B. Tomatoes
Location:
Montgomery, IL
Date:
October 30, 2013
          5.0
 
Pink Berkely Tie Dye
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Flavor, Production, Early,

What are the cons? none

Review:

Grew these seeds out and gave plants to three friends.All of us agreed best tasting tomato of the year. Early sweet rich tasting.Nice early tomato to enjoy will waiting for the beefsteaks

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By M.B. Tomatoes 30 Oct 2013

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)