Wild Boar Farms

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 8

75.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
hilary2
Location:
vallejo, CA
Date:
February 22, 2014
          5.0
 
Pork Chop Tomato
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? no bland, great tasting

What are the cons? none

Review:

Vallejo has cool summers as we get the fog coming through the Golden Gate. I don't plant tomatoes until late May. I am unable to grow green zebra tomatoes most years but Pork Chop produced very well. It was the best large yellow tomato I have ever grown. Hilary Miller

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By hilary2 22 Feb 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Tomato Lover
Location:
Minneapolis, MN
Date:
February 3, 2014
          5.0
 
GREAT yellow
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? Flavor, flesh, color

What are the cons? production

Review:

Absolutely delicious- a few cracked on me but for the most part they were beautiful. The plant didn't produce many- maybe 20- and that is the one downside but I will still plant this one!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Tomato Lover 3 Feb 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
The Tomato Ladies
Location:
Kansas City, KS
Date:
January 16, 2014
          5.0
 
Great Tomato
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Great flavor, nice consistent

What are the cons? None

Review:

This was one of the best new tomatoes we have tried. Great flavor, consistent size, pretty on the plate!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By The Tomato Ladies 16 Jan 2014

8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
FarmerChad
Location:
Lamoni, IA
Date:
December 22, 2013
          4.0
 
Tasty
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Delicious!

What are the cons? Cracked very easily.

Review:

This tomato won our blind tomato test; beating out Cherokee Purple, Scarlet Red, Illinois Beauty, Aunt Ruby, Pink Vernisage, Nebraska Wedding, and Red Zebra. The big down side was that they crack like crazy! The only way that I was able to sell them at market was to have a taste test. After people tried the varieties, they wanted the Pork Chop almost every time. Great way to sell cracked tomatoes, but next year I will pick them early instead of vine ripening. People were very surprised at how good of a "tomato" flavor they had for a yellow tomato, that's why I often would do blind tests.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By FarmerChad 22 Dec 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Dawn
Location:
Livonia, MI
Date:
December 9, 2013
          5.0
 
Loved it
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Gorgeous, flavorful

What are the cons? Some blossom end rot

Review:

2013 season: These were beautiful yellow tomatoes with gold stripes. Most were very large with some being even bigger than my Brandywine tomatoes! The flavor started out good and improved to great as the season progressed; really sweet! Early flavor could have been off due to the extremely rainy spring/early summer. There was not much cracking at all, I picked them a day or two early and let them ripen off the vine. However, some tomatoes did suffer from blossom end rot (which again may have been due to all the rain). Even with the BER there were still plenty of nice tomatoes from each plant. Ordered more seeds and definitely will plant this one again!!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Dawn 9 Dec 2013

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)