Cowpeas

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 6

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Sabumnim
Location:
E Central, MO
Date:
July 27, 2014
          5.0
 
Winner
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Everything

What are the cons? None

Review:

First time growing these so I planted a short trial row. Didn't do too much early on, but when the heat came on they took off and grew vigorously. They could use some support since they do put out some runners, but they're doing OK without. They're very easy to pick since the pods are mostly carried above the foliage and the color stands out. Very productive as well. Long pods usually have eight to ten peas, sometimes more. The taste is exceptional. I'll grow LOTS more of these next hear!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Sabumnim 27 Jul 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
paisleypastures
Location:
Stanfield, NC
Date:
August 6, 2013
          5.0
 
Just like home
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow; prolific

What are the cons? None

Review:

As a kid in Arkansas my grandmother used to grow these and they were always a favorite. While I don't remember how hers grew, I sure do recall how they tasted! I am thrilled at how well they produce and look forward to having them in our garden for years to come!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By paisleypastures 6 Aug 2013

11 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
MamaBear
Date:
October 4, 2012
          5.0
 
WONDERFUL!
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

These are the absolute best for old time Southern peas, we cook up a big pot and serve with cornbread! I am originally from Louisiana and was ecstatic that they would grow and flourish here in Connecticut! Nothing seems to eat them, either, except us, of course! And if you keep them picked they just keep on producing! Was very surprised that even when the nighttime temps dropped into the low 40's they just kept coming. Easy to put up, too, as you just shell them, bag them, and freeze them. No trouble at all. A real comfort food, a taste from childhood, but difficult to find seed, get it while you can!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By MamaBear 4 Oct 2012

9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Throwback
Date:
May 4, 2011
          5.0
 
Excellent!
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I bought a pack of these several years ago (as in probably 2004 or 2005). They were excellent to eat and easy to grow. I let them mature and die when I had picked enough that year. As late as LAST YEAR (2010) I STILL had them naturally regrowing from seed in my garden. Very fertile and if you want to keep seeds to replant, this is your choice.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Throwback 4 May 2011

6 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
tuk50
Date:
August 31, 2010
          4.0
 
cowpea
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

As stated old pea that my family grew in Eastern Oklahoma's hot humid summers ... excellent flavor, shells well and does well in my Arizona garden. Good size pea also.. overall it is one of my family's favorites. The only reason to give it a 4 is that I personally prefer pole beans not bush plants.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By tuk50 31 Aug 2010

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)