Spinach

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 22

95.5% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 5 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Rat
Location:
St Charles, MO
Date:
August 6, 2014
          5.0
 
Yummy
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Tastes and looks great

What are the cons? A little slow growing

Review:

Excellent germination when soaked in warm water before planting. Started some inside that just waited until warm weather came. Couldn't tell the difference between them nd those planted directly in the ground later. Grows fast when it warms up. They are over six feet now. Leaves are delicious when half dollar size or smaller. They taste like the best real spinach can taste. Bigger leaves are not as good. I would always eat a few leaves when I was near them. Can take a while to pick a bunch for a salad. Looks beautiful. No bug problems. Plenty of seed. Provide support.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Rat 6 Aug 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
CC
Location:
louisville, KY
Date:
May 29, 2014
          5.0
 
GREAT
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? State fair prize winner.

What are the cons? Slow to start

Review:

this spinach has wonderful flavor and lasts all summer long. It won 1st place in the fair in August.Beautiful addition to the garden. An attractive plant to grow on a trellis.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By CC 29 May 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Green
Location:
Phoenix, AZ
Date:
April 24, 2014
          4.0
 
Very Beautiful Plant
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? Beautiful, Heat Loving

What are the cons? Slow to grow

Review:

I've read and heard raving reviews that this plant grows prolifically here in the Phoenix 0area. I find it's quite slow to grow. We have warm spring weather- in fact we almost hit 100 just the other day. Finally my malabar is starting to climb, but sheesh... it is slow. The leaves taste fine, very succulent- not my favorite, but there are few greens we can grow here in Phoenix during the summer, so I'll happily take what I can get. I would probably pick the leaves while they are medium size- haven't experienced any slime that way. They are very succulent in texture though- reminds me of wild purslane. I also finely chop pieces and add into eggs and things like that. My friends love to juice it the malabar. The best thing about this plant is that it seems to happily take our torturous heat. Literally, my friends grow them on steel trellises in full Phoenix sun (115 in the summer) and they seem un-phased. Perhaps I will have more to report near mid summer. Lastly, this plant is gorgeous!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Green 24 Apr 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Mrs. Kristi
Location:
Newton, AL
Date:
December 20, 2013
          2.0
 
Beautiful but Slimy
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Beautiful, Prolific Vines

What are the cons? The taste and texture

Review:

I have a friend in Ocala, Florida who raved about this plant and gave me seedlings. I planted it along the fence line of my veggie garden and watched it take off! It is super easy to grow. I harvested the leaves a couple of months later and tasted them raw, to my disappointment, the leaves were VERY slimy (almost a boiled okra texture) and tasted like dirt - not much like spinach. Am I doing something wrong? The bugs in Southeast Alabama did not bother them. And the vine was so BEAUTIFUL that I left it growing along the fence. I harvested the leaves occasionally and fed them to my chickens. In the late summer/early fall the plant dropped tons of black seeds which I am hoping will germinate along the fence line in the spring. If someone will tell me a good recipe, I will try and eat it again! : ) It is too pretty to give up on totally!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Mrs. Kristi 20 Dec 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
sreece
Location:
Bailey, TX
Date:
December 2, 2013
          5.0
 
Great Summer Spinach
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Beautiful, prolific and tasty

What are the cons? None

Review:

I started growing these last year and had a customer drive 45 minutes one way to buy it from me every single week. I didn't have enough of it to meet the demand. Much to my delight, it reseeded itself from the hundreds of little seeds I didn't collect that fell to the ground. I had to thin, thin, thin that end of my garden bed. And this year I had so much spinach! Customers either love it or hate it but I had many who loved it and came to the market just to get my spinach and/or my grandson's carrots. We found it to be a very nutritious and tasty substitute for real spinach during the hot Texas summers. Just be careful where you plant it because it can get away from you and become a "weed."

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By sreece 2 Dec 2013

< Previous | 1 of 5 | Next >
 
 
close (X)