Greens

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 6

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Garden Gal
Location:
Corrales, NM
Date:
May 1, 2014
          5.0
 
RED Orach review
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to direct sew in garden

What are the cons? None so far

Review:

Beautiful color, a little bit of a slow starter I think because of our heat, Even though I am keeping them well watered. I would find information on whether they prefer alkaline or acid soils helpful, does anyone know? Also any information on spacing for these 4 foot plants I hear about? Mine are smaller than that although this is my first time growing them. They taste FABULOUS fresh in a salad with mixed greens. Loved them in a spinach salad with different types of spinach and warm bacon dressing vinegarette!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Garden Gal 1 May 2014

15 out of 15 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Pamela
Location:
Crestone, CO
Date:
July 16, 2013
          5.0
 
All over our garden
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? beautiful plant, self seeds

What are the cons? self seeds everywhere

Review:

Millions of golden seeds on a burgundy plant makes for a wonderful Fall color. We use the leaves of orach for smoothies. I am constantly pulling out small plants in the Spring because it reseeds itself all over (even when I cut off the large seed heads. Great plant to have in the garden.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Pamela 16 Jul 2013

13 out of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
GrowFindExplore.com
Location:
St. Paul, MN
Date:
May 22, 2013
          5.0
 
Super Hardy.
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Cold

What are the cons? Dry / Heat.

Review:

Grew last season. Saved seed, and try fall sowing in Minnesota. One of the first things to sprout in the garden, tiny seedlings survived 2 snowfalls and plenty of cold. Nearly invasive in it's hardiness, currently growing out of cracks in blacktop of parking lot. Very pretty, can be used for landscaping.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By GrowFindExplore.com 22 May 2013

16 out of 16 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Mina
Date:
April 19, 2012
          5.0
 
Almost naturalize in Oregon
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I have been growing these for about 6 years in the Willamette Valley, OR. I just let them self reseed and have a crop every year. They grow about 3' here. Finches love to eat the young leaves.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Mina 19 Apr 2012

18 out of 18 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
TarynK
Date:
December 6, 2011
          5.0
 
Surprising hit in a northern garden!
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I wasn't sure we'd have enough heat here in Seattle for this one, but it did well started indoors and transplanted out. The flavor has a nice citrus touch, great for salads! Beautiful plants too!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By TarynK 6 Dec 2011

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)