Garden Berries

Overall Rating:
         
3.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 11

63.6% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

30 out of 30 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Michael
Date:
November 6, 2012
          5.0
 
Challenging to start, but quite worth the effort- Whidbey Island
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I grew these little guys on the windowsill of my office in December. By February I had a few tiny strawberries from the 10 plants that germinated (not sure how many seeds I started with). They overtook the small planters, so I put them in a patch in our landscaping. All summer long we had daily handfuls of the small berries. Now here it is November- cold and rainy- and they are more prolific than ever. The aren't incredibly fragrant, but they are sweet (with a hint of banana). They are not appropriate for anything other than picking and immediately eating, as they wilt even a couple of hours after picking. Even so, I think they are totally worth growing.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Michael 6 Nov 2012

28 out of 31 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Unknown
Date:
September 20, 2012
          5.0
 
Light and Cold Treatment
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

Strawberry seeds are photoblastic. You can put them on a wet paper towel, not in a folded one, and put the paper towel in a takeout container. Under a grow light, more than 75% of my seeds germinated after 3 days. I did not put it out because it is too hot here in the south. Also, before I sow the seeds, I put them in a freezer about a month for a cold treatment.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Unknown 20 Sep 2012

3 out of 16 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Erin
Date:
April 11, 2012
          1.0
 
Little germination, slow growing
Easy to Grow 1.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I was really disappointed at how few plants germinated from the seeds. Once they did germinate, they grew two leaves, and then stopped growing altogether. They did fairly well, until we forgot to water them for a while and most died. My husband dug up that last surviving one, so who know what might have happened in the second year. It was really disappointing how little they grew in the first year though.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Erin 11 Apr 2012

17 out of 17 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Becca in Kansas zone 6a
Date:
March 24, 2012
          5.0
 
Even better the second year
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I decided to grow these after going on a hike with cub scouts and seeing tiny wild strawberry plants in a wooded area in the park. I started these seeds 2 years ago in the ground. (I didn't start seeds inside that year due to having a newborn.) I got several small plants and while we got lots of flowers my toddler picked almost all of them. I think we had maybe 5 strawberries at the very end of the season but they were delicious. The second year we got quite a bit more fruit as I was more diligent in keeping someone from picking all the flowers. This is year 3 and we already have blooms on the plants that weathered both a really cold snowy and a mild winter now. I will actually be transferring the plants as well as the 8 more that are starting now to a bed with perennial herbs since I know they are going to make it a while. Also, the fruit seemed to get over ripe very easily. Like one day they would be green and 2 days later they would be over ripe and food for the bugs. Definitely need to check the plants daily.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Becca in Kansas zone 6a 24 Mar 2012

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
amethystkittie
Date:
March 10, 2012
          5.0
 
Like a mouthful of happiness!
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I don't like store strawberries and got these for the DH. Imagine ,my happy delight when I found out how good they are. We planted in a container, since I had never grown them before I just plopped all the plants that came up in one. They grew well although I wonder if I couldn't improve the yield somehow. We got several but not tons. This winter was mild, so I shall see if they come back.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By amethystkittie 10 Mar 2012

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)