Broccoli

Overall Rating:
         
3.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 18

72.2% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Nana
Location:
Peshtigo, WI
Date:
September 15, 2014
          1.0
 
A dissapointing fail.
Easy to Grow 4.5
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Fast grower and large plants

What are the cons? No head or crown. A sad fail.

Review:

I had great germination and fast growth, the stalks are strong and thick and are growing very tall. We had ideal growing season cool summer with lots of rain. very few if any days in the 80's. But no heads, no crown what so ever. Just stalks and leaves. A sad fail. I will not try this one again.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Nana 15 Sep 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Green
Location:
Phoenix, AZ
Date:
April 24, 2014
          3.0
 
Not Great for Mild Winter
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 1.0
 

What are the pros? Big Beautiful Plant

What are the cons? No head or crown

Review:

Well, we had a mild winter this year, very little frost, and sadly to say these grew well,the plants were about 2.5 feet tall, big beautiful blue leaves, little pest damage, the stalks looked like tree trunks... but from Sept- April, no crown or head. It just never formed. I grew tons of other brassicas: Rab, Calabrese, Diciccio, Snow Ball, Kohlrabi- I had to harvest most things fairly small because of the warmer temps this year, but at least they gave me something for all that effort and space. I'm going to try again next year, as I hate the thought of being defeated by this bugger... but I would probably say your odds aren't great if you live in a hot climate with a very mild winter. I ended up chopping and dropping these beauties with a tear in eye.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Green 24 Apr 2014

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Jabina
Location:
Albuquerque, NM
Date:
March 9, 2014
          2.0
 
Not sure
Easy to Grow 4.5
EarlyMaturity 0.5
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow

What are the cons? No heads!

Review:

Like everyone else, mine never grew heads -- was it me, was it seeds, who knows. I started from seed in April, which may have been too late, and in October when my partner ripped out my garden, still no heads. I never told him to leave those plants -- I thought they might keep going through the winter and head in the spring. Did I plant too much, too close? Enough water? Not sure of any of it. Since too many people have issues with this plant, I would not recommend, but maybe a tutorial on how to grow it!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Jabina 9 Mar 2014

3 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Cats
Location:
St. Louis, MO
Date:
January 9, 2014
          1.0
 
Dont
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? None

What are the cons? Lots

Review:

First off, it is not broccoli it is cauliflower. Started ten plants indoors in February, transplanted in March. Plants grew large and healthy, up to four and a half feet tall. None formed heads. They grew through the summer and attracted tons of cabbage worms. I killed them all by hand but had some help from wasps and yellow jacket. I even fed one a dead caterpillar by hand. Through the summer, two plants suddenly wilted and it clearly wasn't a water issue so I immediately tore them out. In fall, one started to form a head but the plant just rotted. It started with a brown spot about a foot up on the stem. Eventually it went all the way through the stem. People said below that it doesn't breed true. I never got any heads but some had large broad leaves and some had very thin down-curved leaves that were arranged obliquely along the stem. I think the latter are the pure bred ones. Only grow this if you are really confident in growing CAULIFLOWER!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Cats 9 Jan 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
FurnCroft
Location:
Bahama, NC
Date:
November 27, 2013
          3.0
 
Not great for the south.
Easy to Grow 0.5
EarlyMaturity 0.5
 

What are the pros? Grows large lush plants

What are the cons? Doesn't head

Review:

We have tried for four growing seasons to get this broccoli to mature and head. It never even developed a hint of a floret. The plants are huge and beautiful though. I guess it just doesn’t like our southern climate. It’s definitely no fault of the seed producer. Baker Creek’s Waltham 29 and Calabrese grow really well for us and produce large heads. I would say if you live in zone 7 and higher, this broccoli may be more challenging.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By FurnCroft 27 Nov 2013

< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 
 
close (X)