Kale

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 25

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 5 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Brian
Location:
Fort Wayne, IN
Date:
July 11, 2014
          5.0
 
Russian Red
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Fast growing, lots of yield

What are the cons? grows to fast!

Review:

First time growing this is NE Indiana- it's out grown everything else in my garden. I literally give away bags of kale to friends/family and I eat it everynight myself. thin leaves make it great for stir fry's and pasta dishes. Real pretty stems/leaves

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Brian 11 Jul 2014

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Frank
Location:
Jefferson, GA
Date:
June 13, 2014
          5.0
 
Great
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? easy, delicious

What are the cons? none

Review:

Still good in salad in June in Georgia! Made a kale lover of family that doesn't like vegetables. Grown in a raised bed, planted in spring, perfect germination, and quickly grew to knee high. Resists insects; used a little Neem oil. Stands up to heat; still growing well on June 12th in zone 7B. Expecting this planting to last until spring of 2015. This is a great variety.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Frank 13 Jun 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Alisa
Location:
Greenwood, IN
Date:
May 23, 2014
          5.0
 
Prolific and Delicious
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? easy to grow, prolific

What are the cons? cabbage worms love it too

Review:

I’ve grown several varieties of kale from Baker Creek and this is by far my favorite. Nearly half of my fall-sown plants survived the unseasonably cold central Indiana winter and are thriving and finally bolting in now that it’s mid-May. The spring plantings are growing rapidly and the plants are gorgeous (and delicious). I did battle cabbage worms with the fall plantings, but have had no issue with them this spring. I highly recommend this variety. Not only are the plants beautiful and delicious, but they are prolific producers! You’ll be looking up and inventing new kale recipes and giving kale to everyone you know.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Alisa 23 May 2014

6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Lynn
Location:
Burlingame, CA
Date:
March 24, 2014
          5.0
 
Wow Great taste good growth
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? easy to grow

What are the cons? too much to eat!

Review:

In late fall, we sow 1/4 of the seed packs in the ground. Thanks to great germination rate, we ended up with so many seedlings. As we thinned, we transplanted the seedlings to create another few rows. The transplant were doing great too. We ended up with an area of 4ft x 6 ft of Kale, spaced tightly at about 4 inches apart. Thanks to spring rain (and mild California weather), we have been harvesting this since mid february. There is enough to be harvested for 6 adults-serving every day.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Lynn 24 Mar 2014

11 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Nurse_Rachet
Location:
Fort Wayne, IN
Date:
January 19, 2014
          5.0
 
Excellent cut and come again
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Heat and frost resistant

What are the cons? None!

Review:

I started this kale indoors and planted 18 seedlings, which grew into huge clusters of leaves, some bigger than my dog! I would cut the outer leaves and allow the inner leaves to grow; this method allotted me bushel after bushel of delicious crisp leaves. They never bolted, nor needed much water. I was even harvesting leaves into December! Just a great variety for kale lovers.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Nurse_Rachet 19 Jan 2014

< Previous | 1 of 5 | Next >
 
 
close (X)