Kale

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 28

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 6 | Next >
 

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Nu2Cider
Location:
Spokane, WA
Date:
August 21, 2014
          5.0
 
FoolProof
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Impervious to climate extremes

What are the cons? Nohe so far

Review:

It is dry in eastern Washington, and can get dry. I planted Ragged Jack last fall in October and hoped for the best. Three times last winter temps dropped to around zero F. and practically no snow. I did not cover the seed with mulch or expect to see anything alive in spring. Surprise! Looked like 100% germination. Hottest summer in living memory followed and this kale is healthy and ready for the next meal. Mighty good stuff, whether thinning the young plants or cutting big leaves.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Nu2Cider 21 Aug 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Kate
Location:
Norfolk, VA
Date:
August 14, 2014
          5.0
 
Must have
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Quick and easy, tolerates heat

What are the cons? N/A

Review:

I LOVE this kale. Not only did I seed indoor and outdoors,I even spilled some in the yard. All of them came up! I plant 5-9 per square foot in my raised beds.The leaves taste great big or small and are easy to clean and cut since Red Russian is not as big or curly like other kales. Most of the time I just pick off the stem and throw straight in a soup or salad. It's august and has been consistently in the upper 80's and it's still producing a ton! ( unless the cabbage worms beat me) I grow this every year and will continue!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Kate 14 Aug 2014

6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Wryter
Location:
Kingman, AZ
Date:
July 24, 2014
          5.0
 
Desert Gardener
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Great flavor, easy to grow

What are the cons? Hard to collect seeds

Review:

This is my favorite Kale, with great, buttery flavor and never seems to get bitter. It is so easy to grow tt has re-seeded itself for the past three years and, in fact, last year's plants overwintered (with only a row cover) and produced all through the winter and up until June when they bolted and went to seed. I saved seed (hard to do) and cut them back and they are again producing the tender, buttery leaves I love so much. If you garden in the desert, I recommend this variety so highly I'd give it ten stars if I could. It has proven itself to be heat and drought tolerant and could not be easier to grow. New plants are already springing up from the seeds I missed and folks, I'm writing this review on July 24, 2014, when everyday highs are over 100 and will be until September.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Wryter 24 Jul 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Brian
Location:
Fort Wayne, IN
Date:
July 11, 2014
          5.0
 
Russian Red
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Fast growing, lots of yield

What are the cons? grows to fast!

Review:

First time growing this is NE Indiana- it's out grown everything else in my garden. I literally give away bags of kale to friends/family and I eat it everynight myself. thin leaves make it great for stir fry's and pasta dishes. Real pretty stems/leaves

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Brian 11 Jul 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Frank
Location:
Jefferson, GA
Date:
June 13, 2014
          5.0
 
Great
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? easy, delicious

What are the cons? none

Review:

Still good in salad in June in Georgia! Made a kale lover of family that doesn't like vegetables. Grown in a raised bed, planted in spring, perfect germination, and quickly grew to knee high. Resists insects; used a little Neem oil. Stands up to heat; still growing well on June 12th in zone 7B. Expecting this planting to last until spring of 2015. This is a great variety.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Frank 13 Jun 2014

< Previous | 1 of 6 | Next >
 
 
close (X)