Carrots

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 9

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
MomsintheGarden
Location:
Winchester, VA
Date:
July 12, 2014
          4.0
 
Very good carrot
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.5
 

What are the pros? Tasty, and seeds last a whil

What are the cons? Not uniform

Review:

This is a very tasty carrot. It grows well when I plant in spring to harvest in summer (plant 4/8, harvest 7/8) and plant in summer to harvest in fall and winter (plant 6/30, harvest in November-March). The seeds kept well in a Lock & Lock sealed container. I put an envelope of silica gel in the container, and kept the whole thing in the fridge. In fact, seeds I bought for 2012 grew well in 2014. Just take out what you need to plant. Since St. Valery is an heirloom, it does not provide roots that are all the same. Keep that in mind if you are a market gardener. It's fine for home use, though. 100 feet of row produced about 70 lb. of carrots. They store well in the fridge in summer, and in the ground (heavily mulched) in winter.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By MomsintheGarden 12 Jul 2014

9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Cari
Location:
Shaftsbury, VT
Date:
February 18, 2014
          5.0
 
Best carrot
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Sweet flavor, nice & crisp

What are the cons? Didn't plant nearly enough!

Review:

I've tried all different varieties of carrots over the last several years. No question: St. Valery is the best of all in my S. Vermont garden. Excellent germination, strong growth, excellent flavor and storability. I fill up my big wheelbarrow with them from just one 30' row. This will be my main crop variety from now on.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Cari 18 Feb 2014

11 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Mrs. Kristi
Location:
Newton, AL
Date:
December 19, 2013
          5.0
 
Wonderful Carrot
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Taste, easy growth

What are the cons? none

Review:

Last year was my first attempt at growing carrots. I ordered St. Valery because it had an "our favorite" ranking from Baker. I also planted a small French globe shaped carrot. St. Valery was by far our favorite. No matter how large it got it was still crisp and sweet. It was excellent raw and cooked. (I boiled them lightly then poured out the water and added butter and brown sugar until the sugar dissolved : ) I had close to 100% germination and had delicious carrots in Winter, Spring and early Summer. Will plant in batches this year for more spread out harvests. Excellent sweet carrot that is better than anything the grocery store has to offer. Ordered 2 packs for this year!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Mrs. Kristi 19 Dec 2013

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Mrs. Kristi
Location:
Newton, AL
Date:
November 30, 2013
          5.0
 
Excellent Carrot for Beginners
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Sweet Flavor

What are the cons? older seeds didn't germinate

Review:

This was my first year to grow carrots, I read the reviews and picked St. Valery because it was Baker's favorite. I love this variety. It was sweet and delicious raw or cooked. No matter how big it got it was still sweet. I will grow it every year from now on. I grew a round radish looking type as well but it did not have the sweetness, it tasted more like the root varieties we ate as kids in the 70's.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Mrs. Kristi 30 Nov 2013

17 out of 17 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Melissa
Date:
January 15, 2012
          4.0
 
nice and big
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

We have a big family and love the fact that these are big and good. We found that if planted in the spring and left in the ground until fall a good number of them began to send up flower stalks resulting in woody carrots. I hadn't seen this before with other varieties. So if you want carrots these in the fall, plant some later in the season.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Melissa 15 Jan 2012

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)