Herbs O-Z

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 14

92.9% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
joewamsley
Location:
Dearborn Heights, MI
Date:
July 19, 2014
          4.0
 
Survived Winter in Basement
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Hardy Weedlike

What are the cons? Leaves Easily Brown

Review:

I grew these in my aquaponics experiment over the winter in my unconditioned basement.I think the water did not get over 55F (if it got there) all winter but they kept growing. I dumbly changed my light timer for daylight savings and all of the stevia flowered. If you do this just cut the flower and plant it. The plant actually does not die afterward. The bed they were in had mechanical difficulties so I had to cut water back for a while. Everything browned up and I cut the stems to the ground ... and they grew back. This is how I harvest the stevia now, instead of getting multiple weak shoots I get a new set of strong ones. Any plant which appears dead but does not have rotted roots will come back. Any fresh cutting can be put in water and will grow a new plant. Very sweet, taste is ok, just a little odd.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By joewamsley 19 Jul 2014

9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Andrea289
Location:
Teague, TX
Date:
February 3, 2014
          5.0
 
No problems Growing
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow for me

What are the cons? None

Review:

I have read these were hard to germinate, but I did not have a problem. I started indoors in December, and they have been going well. As for the taste, I quite liked it, but as with everything it is more of a personal taste issue.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Andrea289 3 Feb 2014

26 out of 27 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Amanda
Location:
Greenfield, MO
Date:
January 11, 2014
          5.0
 
Great plant
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Sweet and tough

What are the cons? Sorting seed is eye-straining

Review:

Grew mine in a small pot on the south side of my house in zone 7. It not only survived being accidentally hit by the weed eater and constant nibbles from a sweet toothed gal *grins*, it went to flower in about late August and I managed to save seed before it froze in October. Seed is tricky, for tan seed is infertile and the gray/black seed is fertile. I planted the gray seed in peat pots by just tucking the ends, fluff up, into the top of the peat and had about 90% germination within 2 weeks in a south window in December.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Amanda 11 Jan 2014

34 out of 34 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
DrSteve
Location:
Harlingen, TX
Date:
October 12, 2013
          5.0
 
Greminating and processing
Easy to Grow 1.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Mature plants easy to keep up.

What are the cons? Difficult to germinate.

Review:

They are notoriously difficult to germinate, even once sprouted seedlings are very sensitive and easy to kill!! I use a misting spray bottle to water the soil until they get 4 leaves or more. If the seedling lay down due to watering they may very well die. The bitterness talked about comes from the chlorophyll in the leaves. If you process fresh leaves by soaking in vodka or grain alcohol you can avoid the bitterness. Only soak them for 8 to 12 hours, no more! Then heat BELOW boiling point for about 45 minutes to burn off the alcohol, longer for a more concentrated mix. Careful, if allowed to boil it will break down the sugar. Storing in a dark colored bottle in the frig with make it last for 2-4 months.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By DrSteve 12 Oct 2013

15 out of 15 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
mpbusyb
Location:
Monroe, NC
Date:
September 4, 2013
          4.0
 
Not so easy not too hard
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? availability of seeds

What are the cons? hard to germinate

Review:

I had a hard time germinating these seeds in the spring. Left them alone and in the pot outside all summer and they popped up all of the sudden about a month ago - five seedlings in the same spot. I transplanted all but one into larger pots and will give away to friends. The leaves are intensely sweet. Glad that another reviewer mentioned to use them when they are still on the small side. Also appreciate another reviewers recipe for stevia liquid. Will do both. Hope to keep the plants around for years to come since we have loved stevia for years.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By mpbusyb 4 Sep 2013

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)