Herbs O-Z

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 13

92.3% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 

9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Andrea289
Location:
Teague, TX
Date:
February 3, 2014
          5.0
 
No problems Growing
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow for me

What are the cons? None

Review:

I have read these were hard to germinate, but I did not have a problem. I started indoors in December, and they have been going well. As for the taste, I quite liked it, but as with everything it is more of a personal taste issue.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Andrea289 3 Feb 2014

26 out of 27 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Amanda
Location:
Greenfield, MO
Date:
January 11, 2014
          5.0
 
Great plant
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Sweet and tough

What are the cons? Sorting seed is eye-straining

Review:

Grew mine in a small pot on the south side of my house in zone 7. It not only survived being accidentally hit by the weed eater and constant nibbles from a sweet toothed gal *grins*, it went to flower in about late August and I managed to save seed before it froze in October. Seed is tricky, for tan seed is infertile and the gray/black seed is fertile. I planted the gray seed in peat pots by just tucking the ends, fluff up, into the top of the peat and had about 90% germination within 2 weeks in a south window in December.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Amanda 11 Jan 2014

34 out of 34 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
DrSteve
Location:
Harlingen, TX
Date:
October 12, 2013
          5.0
 
Greminating and processing
Easy to Grow 1.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? Mature plants easy to keep up.

What are the cons? Difficult to germinate.

Review:

They are notoriously difficult to germinate, even once sprouted seedlings are very sensitive and easy to kill!! I use a misting spray bottle to water the soil until they get 4 leaves or more. If the seedling lay down due to watering they may very well die. The bitterness talked about comes from the chlorophyll in the leaves. If you process fresh leaves by soaking in vodka or grain alcohol you can avoid the bitterness. Only soak them for 8 to 12 hours, no more! Then heat BELOW boiling point for about 45 minutes to burn off the alcohol, longer for a more concentrated mix. Careful, if allowed to boil it will break down the sugar. Storing in a dark colored bottle in the frig with make it last for 2-4 months.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By DrSteve 12 Oct 2013

15 out of 15 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
mpbusyb
Location:
Monroe, NC
Date:
September 4, 2013
          4.0
 
Not so easy not too hard
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? availability of seeds

What are the cons? hard to germinate

Review:

I had a hard time germinating these seeds in the spring. Left them alone and in the pot outside all summer and they popped up all of the sudden about a month ago - five seedlings in the same spot. I transplanted all but one into larger pots and will give away to friends. The leaves are intensely sweet. Glad that another reviewer mentioned to use them when they are still on the small side. Also appreciate another reviewers recipe for stevia liquid. Will do both. Hope to keep the plants around for years to come since we have loved stevia for years.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By mpbusyb 4 Sep 2013

12 out of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
mpbusyb
Location:
Monroe, NC
Date:
August 26, 2013
          4.0
 
beginners luck
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Beautiful plant

What are the cons? Hard to germinate

Review:

Tried germinating in a small strawberry pot this past spring w/zero success. Once I set the pot outside on the deck to get it out of my way, the plants popped up quick and easy. That was earlier this August. Flavor is extremely sweet; I'll be using it in my tea and sauces. My hope now is that it will over-winter for me indoors in zone 7b as I have read trying to dry it can leave it very bitter.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By mpbusyb 26 Aug 2013

< Previous | 1 of 3 | Next >
 
 
close (X)