Long Beans

Overall Rating:
         
5.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 7

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Rat
Location:
St Charles, MO
Date:
August 6, 2014
          5.0
 
Productive
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Many

What are the cons? O

Review:

Soaked 32 seeds overnight in warm water and planted them in a section of garden 1ft x 8ft in May. All came up. Lost one bc I accidentally kicked it over. Grew up a trellis. Had beans in early July. Have to pick them every two days. Got a pound of beans every two days so far. If you wait until the beans inside start to plump up, the pod will be spongy. Taste good boiled like regular beans but are great in a stir fry or grilled. No fuzz like common beans and no string. Takes a lot less time to pick, just make sure not to damage the little nose in between a pair of beans because it will flower again and make more beans. Also takes a lot less time to clean and than common beans. A lot less bug bites (maybe because they are above ground. Earlier than bush beans planted at the same time. Tolerates the heat great which is why I used them. Overall best bean I've ever grown. However a green variety might be better because the red one turns bluish and some sloughs off into the wate

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Rat 6 Aug 2014

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Sue
Location:
Norfolk, VA
Date:
September 13, 2013
          5.0
 
Beans
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? fast germination & growth

What are the cons? none

Review:

So far we are very impressed with these beans. We did not plant these until mid August and we already have long purple bean pods cascading down the plant. The beans appeared suddenly. One day we were looking at the pretty flowers and a few days later we found some long beans,over a foot long! How did we miss the beans? These beans definitely need a tall trellis. We have not yet tasted these but will report back after the first sampling.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Sue 13 Sep 2013

8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
flwrgrl
Location:
Wichita, KS
Date:
July 25, 2013
          5.0
 
Wonderful flavor
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.5
 

What are the pros? Easy to grow. Prolific

What are the cons? Nothing to dislike, wonderful

Review:

We had strange weather this year, late hard freezes. So I was thrilled when these beans came up. It is late July and the first pole beans to produce.(I planted several types) The flowers are a lovely lavender color. The beans themselves add interest to the garden. I planted them on the grandchildrens teepee and on a strong trellis. All are producing like crazy just one week after they started blooming! Love these. Saving some seeds for next year!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By flwrgrl 25 Jul 2013

15 out of 15 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Joshua
Date:
September 10, 2012
          5.0
 
Overall Rating- Superb!
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I grew this in NW Ohio. In my yard and at Toledo Botanical Garden- It performed superbly in both areas. At home we couldn't keep up with it, eating, canning, giving it to neighbors. The Botanical Garden was no different, even though that plot has a significant amount of shade...it still performed excellently!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Joshua 10 Sep 2012

12 out of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Howlin' Hippie - Zone 6b
Date:
August 28, 2012
          5.0
 
Productive, but Draws Red Wasps
Easy to Grow 4.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros?

What are the cons?

Review:

I had good luck with these in raised beds on a trellis. I harvested my first pods in May, and I am still getting new ones at the tail end of August. The pods are 1.5 to 2 feet long, and tender enough to eat raw if you harvest them early. My only problem has been the swarms of red wasps that love to hang around the beans for some reason.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Howlin' Hippie - Zone 6b 28 Aug 2012

< Previous | 1 of 2 | Next >
 
 
close (X)