Gardening Books

Overall Rating:
         
4.5
 
 
Number of Reviews: 18

100.0% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 

11 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
GoatCheeseMaker
Location:
Salinas, CA
Date:
April 3, 2014
          3.0
 
Buy it
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Great idea!

What are the cons? Not all varieties have photos

Review:

First of all... I love that Baker creek has made a more extensive catalog for purchase. I would highly recommend buying one. My disappointment is that there are not photos of ALL the varieties listed. I realized that it would be even more expensive to publish, but I'd certainly pay a lot more for that. It is such a great resource to have good photos, especially for identifying heirloom seed/ veggies that someone has given me. My other recommendation would be that the photos are listed in alphabetical order- it is cumbersome to flip back and forth many pages to see the photo/ read the description. Anyway: an awesome catalog, get one! I'm writing this review hoping that they remedy these things in the future. Maybe a hardcover offered also, with photos of everything? I'd pre-order one!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By GoatCheeseMaker 3 Apr 2014

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
naturecarvings
Location:
Modesto, CA
Date:
March 13, 2014
          3.0
 
They have outdone themselves
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? lovely pictures, great recipes

What are the cons? that I had to wait to receive

Review:

I look forward every Dec. to the new seed catalog, not only for the chance to see there newly offered varieties, but just to enjoy the big colorful pictures. Well, this catalog is even better than that, chock full of recipes, stories, and really well written articles. I hesitated to spend the money initially, but glad I broke down and did. If you are impressed with their regular seed catalog, this is even better.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By naturecarvings 13 Mar 2014

10 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Jacorn1
Location:
Carlsbad, NM
Date:
March 2, 2014
          5.0
 
Catalog
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? Good photos

What are the cons? None!

Review:

I first ordered a set of seeds online, then purchased the catalog at Tractor Supply. I'm actually reading it like a book and am on page 147! I've now submitted my third seed order. My only complaint? I need to enlarge my garden.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Jacorn1 2 Mar 2014

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Ihatetoweed
Location:
sauk county, WI
Date:
February 24, 2014
          4.0
 
whole seed catalog
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? entertaining

What are the cons? lacking climate zones.

Review:

The variety of seeds in the book is unbelievable. The descriptions of the plants, where they came from, educational. What I found lacking was what the plants were susceptible to, hybrid plants were created to eliminate diseases. It's helpful to know what to be on the lookout for. All in all the catalog has helped me through the Polar Vortex 1, 2, now 3. I also appreciate the flat fee shipping.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Ihatetoweed 24 Feb 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Deb
Location:
Pittsburgh, PA
Date:
February 21, 2014
          5.0
 
way too much fun
Easy to Grow 0.0
EarlyMaturity 0.0
 

What are the pros? The pictures are fantastic

What are the cons? none

Review:

My husband bought this for me for Christmas. It is the BEST CHRISTMAS PRESENT EVER. I cannot tell you how many hours I've spent pouring over it, oohing and aahing over the pictures and all the possibilities! We are moving to a new house this spring, and I'm already picturing what I will plant where. Thanks to Baker Creek for filling my winter daydreams!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Deb 21 Feb 2014

< Previous | 1 of 4 | Next >
 
 
close (X)