Garden Berries

Overall Rating:
         
4.0
 
 
Number of Reviews: 27

74.1% would recommend this item to a friend.

 
< Previous | 1 of 6 | Next >
 

0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
grammanan
Location:
Lynnwood, WA
Date:
September 26, 2014
          3.0
 
Interesting
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 2.0
 

What are the pros? easy to grow

What are the cons? not much flavor

Review:

I started these in a cup on a north facing deck. Several came up but I forgot about them> I did water every once in a while and three of them just wouldn't give up. I planted them in pots in a sunny area. They kept growing the larger the pot the bigger the plant. The berries ripen like a cherry tomato from the stem to the tip. They taste better if allowed to fully ripen as a group rather that as the berries ripen individually. There are lots of small seeds but there is no need to chew them. I use them in my smoothies

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By grammanan 26 Sep 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Jonboy McDoozer
Location:
Manchester, NH
Date:
September 9, 2014
          2.0
 
Nasty and Invasive
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 4.0
 

What are the pros? Easy to gro

What are the cons? Bland Taste

Review:

I planted these about five years ago in my garden and in some containers. They did great in both places, were easy to grow and required no care whatsoever. However, its been about five years since I grew them and they keep popping up everywhere, in my garden, in old flower pots (filled with dirt) in my flower garden, in cracks in the pavement! It would be great if the flavor was worth it, but they are not tastey AT ALL! the seeds are plentiful and make even adding sugar to them and cooking them not fun because the texture is ruined by the seeds. I'm surprised people still buy these seeds...STAY AWAY!

Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Jonboy McDoozer 9 Sep 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Godiva
Location:
Spokane, WA
Date:
August 27, 2014
          5.0
 
Love these berries
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Beautiful plant, fun for kids

What are the cons? absolutely nothing to dislike

Review:

As a first time gardener, I chose to grow these because I am a huge fan of fruits and I found my garden was mostly veggies. I only grew 2 plants but am amazed at the yield. I would like to say that I have baked with them, but they don't last long enough in my house to have enough for a pie! In fact, they seldom make it into the house at all, since my little harvesters love to eat them right from the bush. Next year, I will grow several more plants in hopes of being able to cook, preserve and otherwise use these wonderful berries.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Godiva 27 Aug 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Rachel J
Location:
Calaveras County, CA
Date:
August 11, 2014
          4.0
 
Wonderberries
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 5.0
 

What are the pros? Heavy producer, grows easily

What are the cons? Raw flavor

Review:

This was our first and trial year for wonderberries. I got 4 plants in the ground (intended for more but...) and I'm glad I didn't get in as many as I planned! The plants are 4 feet tall and covered in berries. We've already harvested 1-2 quarts and will get at least that amount again. Our family is not overly fond of eating the berries raw but, frozen and thrown in bread in place of blueberries they were great! Definitely growing again next year and trying the other varieties as well.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Rachel J 11 Aug 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Nickname:
Nanette
Location:
Longmont, CO
Date:
August 10, 2014
          5.0
 
Wonderberries
Easy to Grow 5.0
EarlyMaturity 3.0
 

What are the pros? a distinctive taste/texture

What are the cons? messy to pick

Review:

These berries have been in our family since my great grandmother brought them, dried, in her handkerchief when she came to the USA. Once started, they grow like a weed because of the many seeds that may have been left behind from the previous year's picking.Yes, they are messy to pick and easy to drop an occasional berry. Family recipes include coffee cakes with wonderberry topping and varinek (an apple dumpling sort of main dish) filled with wonder berries instead of apple-- A pretty common berry for German/Russian heritage dishes.

Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report inappropriate review

By Nanette 10 Aug 2014

< Previous | 1 of 6 | Next >
 
 
close (X)